Superfood Smoothie Bowl

Did you ever notice how every food is now a “superfood”? Also most foods are now also detox foods. People need to slow their roll with putting food into categories.

Anyway, I know I owe you about a millionΒ two travel recaps along with a ton of other stuff I want to share, but I haven’t had the chance to create a recipe for a couple weeks and this takes a lot less brain effort to write then something I have to go fact-check.

Nicaragua was amazing. I’ll recap fully soon, I promise. Of course the first place I made my dad stop after he picked me up from the airport (at 11 p.m.) was the grocery store to buy spinach. I had been feeling pretty gross my whole trip and couldn’t wait to start eating super clean again.

I just felt like I ateΒ so much when I really didn’t. I was just eating differently than normal (trying to eat for energy – surfing is hard work!) and I start to feel weird when I’m not eating a ton of veggies and protein. After Tuesday, I made the exec decision I was no longer going to eat white rice… I don’t love it, my body doesn’t love it, I might as well spend the calories somewhere else and eat something satisfying.

Sunday morning, I woke up pretty hungry from not eating anything substantial on Saturday (the Managua and Houston airports both lack healthy options and plane food is probably just injected with sodium). I also knew I needed vegetables stat. I had a smoothie bowl at this cool raw foods cafe in San Juan del Sur and decided to just Cassie-fy it. I was a little cold after breakfast but I suddenly had a ton of energy and felt like myself again. Oh, and did I mention it was delicious?

Superfood Smoothie Bowl

Superfood Smoothie Bowl | almost getting it together

Start your day the tropical way with a smoothie bowl.

What you’ll need:
Smoothie Bowl
2 huge handfuls spinach
1 cup frozen strawberries
1 cup ice
1/2 cup coconut water
1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
1/4 cup raw rolled oats
1/4 avocado

Topping
1/2 banana
1/4 cup blueberries
2 tbsp Purely Elizabeth Blueberry Hemp Granola
1 tbsp hemp seeds
1 tbsp shredded coconut

What to do:
Put all smoothie bowl ingredients into your Vitamix blender and blend until smooth. It should be a little thicker than a normal smoothie and not flow out of the container – you should have to use a spatula to get it all out.
Put smoothie into a bowl (duh). Add toppings and try not to get a brain freeze as you dig in (this is coming from experience).

Superfood Smoothie Bowl | almost getting it together

Look at that green goodness.

Superfood Smoothie Bowl | almost getting it together

Smoothie bowl is ready for its close-up.

Superfood Smoothie Bowl Nutrition Facts

Chat with me:
What do you eat when you need to get back on track? Are you as obsessed with vegetables as I am?

23 thoughts on “Superfood Smoothie Bowl

  1. I absolutely love white rice. Like, if I could eat white rice and regular potatoes every day, my life would be complete. HOWEVER, your smoothie bowl does look great. Funny story, when I was in Costa Rica, ALL I ate was white rice because I hate black beans (their other staple food).

  2. Yum! I’m not big on protein powders, but I bet this would still be delicious without it. I’m loving smoothie bowls lately, but am with you on getting a bit lost with all the ‘superfood’ categories. :-/

  3. Welcome home, darling!! I usually make myself one big asK salad bowl containing everything but the kitchen sink when getting back from traveling & lacking any vegetables. I’m probably just as obsessed with vegetables as you.

    BTW: your smoothie bowl not only sounds delicious but I wish I could have a bowl right NOW! Fly to Kuwait and bring me one? πŸ™‚

  4. Lots and lots and lots of veggies is what I pack myself full of when I want to get back on track. I am loving your smoothie bowl it looks amazing. Love the pretty presentation of it. Would you believe I’ve never had a smoothie bowl? smoothies yes but not as a bowl, will definitely have to try this.

  5. Love that smoothie bowl. Just got back from a vacay in China and I am stuffing myself with any and all sorts of fruits and veggies. Feel so much better already. First thing I made was a huge glass of green juice πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

