Mint Chocolate Chip Overnight Oats and a Giveaway

As usual, I’m behind the times on green recipes. Since my birthday falls 10 days before St. Patrick’s Day, clearly I have other priorities in March.

I had actually been craving a shamrock basic b***h shake (i.e. a mint flavored smoothie in my world) but when I made it I just felt… basic and unoriginal. Maybe I’ll still post it because it was pretty good but whatever. (Has anyone seen the nutrition facts on a real Shamrock Shake? Ew. Just ew. I saw them while looking one up to show Davida what they were).

Then it came to me – mint chocolate chip overnight oats. I remembered I had Peppermint NuStevia and had yet to try that flavor. I actually originally made this with just mint and it wasn’t minty enough. True peppermint extract scares me because of a peppermint extract overdose incident (if a recipe calls for 1/8 tsp of peppermint don’t increase it) so I was glad to have a little dropper that held me accountable.

This oatmeal was amazing. So good I had to text Angela to tell her. Honestly it’s vaguely scary looking – I’m kind of self-conscious about how my food looks anyway (#foodbloggerprobs) and I was really self-conscious of this guy. But whatever, get festive and make a jar now – they’ll probably be great hangover food on the 18th. (Off topic: for a while, a kale smoothie was my go-to hangover cure.) Plus – they’re gluten free and vegan!

Mint Chocolate Chip Overnight Oats

mint chocolate chip overnight oats | almost getting it together

Sorry these photos are dark – natural light is no joke.

What you’ll need:
2 cups spinach
½ large banana
½ cup rolled oats
½ cup unsweetened almond milk
2 tbsp cacao powder (or cocoa powder)
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 sprig fresh mint
5 drops peppermint NuNatuals Stevia
1 tbsp unsweetened carob chips

What to do:
Put spinach, banana, almond milk, cacao powder, fresh mint, and peppermint stevia in your blender and blend until smooth.
Put oats and chia seeds in a jar and shake to combine.
Pour blender mixture into jar.
Add carob chips to jar mixture.
Shake well to combine.
Refrigerate overnight. Top with Greek yogurt or additional carob chips! Try not to be self-conscious of your breakfast.

mint chocolate chip overnight oats | almost getting it together

Don’t let the color scare you.

Mint Chocolate Chip Overnight Oats Nutrition Facts

Now you can #getlucky and win a NuStevia prize pack that includes the peppermint, cherry vanilla and lemon flavors! I’m giving away four prize packs and this is open WORLDWIDE. You’ll also get some NuStevia packets for sweetening on the go. If you don’t think you’re lucky, you can score 15% off your purchase with BLG0614 on nunaturals.com.

Now for the not so lucky part… I am not currently self-hosting and the free version of WordPress has some serious limitations, so you have to enter by going to the Rafflecopter page. I hope this doesn’t deter you from entering. Feel free to leave me a comment or shoot me an e-mail if you have any problems entering and I’ll help you out. This giveaway ends at 12:00 a.m. on Monday, March 17th so enter now!

The giveaway is sponsored by NuNaturals but all opinions and recipe creations are my own. I was not paid for this post.

Chat with me:
What was your most memorable (or least memorable… haha) St. Patrick’s Day ever?

44 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Chip Overnight Oats and a Giveaway

  1. I was gonna write something corny but then Jessie got there but I’ve actually met you so I win. But for realz I’m pretty damn lucky to have met my evil soul sister (by evil I mean we’re both evil DUHHHHH).

    REAL lucky would be you getting a job at the hockey hall of fame and moving here.

    You are awesome. Shamrock shakes are not. McDs fries in foreign countries are. Your oats are terrifying but I’d eat them. I’m making these tomorrow but with mint extract cause you haven’t rigged the giveaway for me yet.

  2. Cass this sounds so good. I can’t wait to give it a try. Maybe this should be my birthday morning breakfast! I’ll just have to sub out the stevia since I don’t have any… unless I win your giveaway 😉 We should also just take the self-hosted plunge together so that we can complain to each other when we’re confused and will not feel guilty about it.

  3. Mm i love st patty’s day haha. I have yet to hit the parade downtown (won’t be happening this year either), but I did go out in southside two years ago now, and it was quite the experience haha. I was sobering up by that point thankfully (I’m a fan of drinking earlier on that day and then taking it easy as the day goes on and enjoy watching everyone else get loony toons), but I’m pretty sure I was the only one, so the shenanigans I witnessed were crazy. Saturday should be interesting for sure haha

  4. Luckiest thing that happened to me– I was on vacation in Ecuador (lucky in itself!) and I went for a 8 mile run down the beach. It was COMPLETELY deserted and I looked down and saw a 20$ bill. You know how stories always end this way when they’re lame? Well, this really happened! I bought my friends breakfast with my new-found riches

  5. I have a serious weakness for the mint chocolate combo, but I’m totally afraid of peppermint extract because it seems so… potent 😯 I’m always scared that I’d add too much and end up with mouthwash or toothpaste 😆 These look delicious, though, and I’m loving the added spinach. I’ve been slacking on my veggies and tossing my greens into smoothies, but oats definitely sound like a good option as well.

    • I have a serious mint chocolate weakness too. The peppermint extract is SO potent. It almost makes sense to buy a dropper for the extract bottle… because I have definitely had mouthwash smoothies trying to add peppermint extract 🙂

      Speaking of sneaking veggies in – I made Angela’s spinach muffins – definitely amazing, I think they would be right up your alley!

  6. Geebuz. This is so rare. A giveaway which is WORLDWIDE baha!

    Umm… So I need to bite my tongue as I used to think mint chocolate could only be left for ice cream but no….put with after dinner mints. Amazing. And spinach in oatmeal? Never done that but coming from you, I am not surprised.

  7. That’s amazing!! I never would have thought to put spinach in overnight oats, but I am so intrigued. I love spinach in anything. I think the luckiest thing that has happened to me would be meeting my now-husband on move-in day of college!

  8. I definitely had a “least memorable” st Patty’s day Freshman year of college. Didn’t make it out of the dorm. We’ve all had one of those, right?

  9. omggggg I didn’t know they made stevia in peppermint! I NEED THAT NOW. I was just thinking about mixing peppermint into my oatmeal and greek yogurt (I already add cocoa and I’m obsessed with anything mint choco. chip) THANK YOU FOR THE INSPIRATION. I can die happy now 🙂

  10. Hmmmmm….I love all things mint and chocolate (I need to get a Shamrock Shake this wknd before it goes away!) But confession time: I’ve never had overnight oats. The cold, consistency factor kind of scares me but I would be willing to try this in a heartbeat!

  11. I normally only make mint chocolate chip shakes… and one time I added WAY TOO MUCH peppermint extract. It was absolutely terrible. I couldn’t even drink half of the shake so less is def more in this case. I never thought of peppermint oats so I’m curious and will have to try it out, great recipe !!

  12. Adding fresh mint leaves is a great idea and how I never tried that when preparing my oats but only a rather flavourless version cooking them in peppermint tea is beyond me.
    Tough question about being lucky but I’d say the luckiest happening[s] in my life are having a wonderful family and getting to know great friends. Yes, it’s cheesy but you asked and that’s an honest answer 🙂 .

  13. Yummmm! That is very clever, would be great to enjoy on a Meatless Monday….especially this one that falls on St. Patricks day! I havent tried the Shamrock shake…..dont shoot me haha, but I try to stay away from McDonalds as much as I can!

    I am afraid I do not really celebrate it….so not really sure I have any memories….I remember being given a Guiness top hat in England once, but thats about it haha!

  14. Pingback: Please, Eat a D**n Salad (and Giveaway Winners!) | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

