Autumn Vegetable Fritatta

I know autumn is long gone (unless you’re in the Southern hemisphere, then it is just on the horizon), but this is what a certain someone asked me to make when I asked what they wanted for breakfast. 

My mom used to make frittatas pretty often. I used to think they were so fancy, but they were her way of using up whatever vegetables were leftover in the fridge. I honestly hadn’t really made more than one or two before (that honestly were just failed omelets, so I was so surprised when this one turned out.

I probably would have used gruyere cheese (let me know if you try it with that), but the pepper jack gave it a nice kick. Plus, I add Cholula to anything savory that stands still so it gave me an excuse to use my favorite condiment and a little bit of avocado for some healthy fat on the side. I actually ended up eating a slice of this cold one morning when I was particularly snacky and knew I would be ravenous in an hour so I just wanted to nip the hunger in the bud.

Autumn Veggie Fritatta
Serves six

autumn vegetable gluten free fritatta | almost getting it together

Serve this for St. Patrick’s Day since it has some green in it… right?

autumn vegetable gluten free fritatta | almost getting it together

Gotta Fritatta.

What you’ll need:
4 eggs
5 egg whites
1 chicken sausage link
6 oz pepperjack cheese, grated
½ cup butternut squash, cooked
8 oz shitake mushrooms
4 cups spinach
¼ cup chopped green onions
¼ cup almond milk, unsweetened
2 tbsp garlic
2 tsp olive oil
¼ tsp salt
¼ tsp crushed red pepper
¼ tsp crushed black pepper

What to do:
Heat a sauté pan or a cast iron skillet on the stove on low heat.
Add olive oil & garlic. Cook garlic until fragrant, about one minute.
Add chicken sausage and cook about 10 minutes or until nearly fully cooked.
Add mushrooms and cook until soft, about 10 minutes (because you’re on low heat).
While mushrooms are cooking, mix eggs, egg whites, grated cheese, almond milk, salt and both peppers in a bowl and set aside.
Add spinach, green onions and squash and cook until spinach is wilted, about 2-3 minutes. Continue stirring to make sure veggies are well mixed.
Add in egg, cheese and milk mixture. Turn up heat to medium.
Let sit on medium heat until fully cooked, about 10-15 minutes.
Set oven to broil and pop pan/skillet in for 3-5 minutes until top browns.
Serve with salsa, avocado or whatever else you like with your eggs.

autumn vegetable gluten free fritatta | almost getting it together

Look at all that vegetabley goodness.

autumn vegetable gluten free fritatta | almost getting it together

Soooo steamy.

Autumn Vegetable Fritatta Nutrition Facts


Chat with me:
What’s your favorite way to eat eggs? What meal could someone cook to impress you?

21 thoughts on “Autumn Vegetable Fritatta

  1. This is so pretty cass!!!! True story, I am an egg fail. Like I could cook a wolf but I can’t cook eggs for my life. It’s C’s one and only foodie task. I like mine drippy but whenever I’m going to a brunch potluck or hosting I make a frittata cause I seem fancy. Anything with an Italian name is fancy in my book…

  2. Mm we love frittatas on Saturday or Sunday morning with French toast or pancakes 🙂 I typically mix one egg with some liquid egg whites and milk when I have them for breakfast and then top that with ketchup or tomato sauce and call it a day. We were talking about making a frittata for st patty’s day though so this may be just the thing 🙂

  3. I used to think the same thing! I always thought Fritatas were so fancy, until I made one last year with my sister. I love any vegetable except mushrooms, but I love putting squash and onions in mine 🙂

  4. Ok so can I ask a dumb question-whats the difference between frittata and quiche? Or is the same thing? I don’t have a cast iron skillet so I’ve never made it before but would be down. I just make stir fry when I want to use my veggies so this would be a welcomed change.

  5. For some reason, fritatta’s are one breakfast/brunch meal Ive never made. I usually just drool (like i’m doing now) at other peoples recipe. I’m thinking it’s time I branch out and make a fritatta recipe my b**ch.. you agree? LOL

Leave a Reply

