Coconut Blueberry Quinoa Pancakes

I had been craving two different breakfast foods – quinoa pancakes (which I had never had before but I often find myself craving foods I’ve never tried) and coconut blueberry waffles (alternatively, which I had never had). Luckily, President’s Day gave me a chance to create the breakfast food of my dreams since Saturday and Sunday breakfasts had been oatmeal (since I assumed I was doing a long run on Saturday then truly did a long run on Sunday).

Coconut Blueberry Quinoa Pancakes

Coconut Blueberry Quinoa Pancakes | almost getting it together

I was starving but managed these epic photos.

Coconut Blueberry Quinoa Pancakes | almost getting it together

The quintessential pancake shot.

What you’ll need:
½ cup cooked quinoa
¼ cup egg whites
¼ cup coconut milk
¼ cup fresh blueberries
1 tbsp coconut flour
1 tbsp shredded coconut
1 tsp vanilla
¼ tsp baking powder

Optional Toppings:
Coconut butter
Almond butter
Greek yogurt
Fresh blueberries

Coconut Blueberry Quinoa Pancakes | almost getting it together

Use the coconut butter. Trust me.

What to do:
Heat skillet on medium heat and spray with coconut oil (or whatever you use as a non-stick spray).
Mix quinoa, coconut milk and egg whites in a bowl.
Add coconut flour, shredded coconut, vanilla and baking powder and mix well. Coconut flour has a habit of sticking together – be sure to mix all of it out.
Fold in blueberries
Pour pancake batter onto heated skittle and let cook 2-3 minutes until bottom browns and is able to flip.

Flip pancake and cook for another 1-2 minutes.
Top with whatever makes your heart flutter and enjoy.

Coconut Blueberry Quinoa Pancake Nutrition Facts

Chat with me:
Do you crave foods you’ve never had? What are you currently craving?

18 thoughts on “Coconut Blueberry Quinoa Pancakes

  1. dude is that steam coming off of them? KILLED IT.

    Um yes to foods I’ve never tried. Believe it or not I had never tried cottage cheese before but in the fall I was having extreme cravings for it. Turns out I love it.

    I have yet to have that experience with bacon though. Although I am coming around to the thought of trying it. We just won’t be cooking it in our place because the smell makes me sick. I’m so weird…

  2. I always crave foods that I’ve never tried. Or maybe once a day will try to only once a while back. Recently I’ve been craving rice porridge which I really only had once in my life. But first i think I’ll try your pancakes.

  3. I’m almost drooling over these! So good 😛
    I’ve never tried making pancakes with quinoa before. Looks like I’m missing out!

  4. I’m almost drooling over these! 😛
    I’ve never made pancakes with quinoa before. Looks like I’m missing out!

  5. These sound INCREDIBLE! I have had quinoa/chocolate pancakes before – but never thought of combining blueberries and coconut in a quinoa pancake – its brilliant!

  6. Alright. I was a little skeptical when I saw coconut blueberry and quinoa all in one sentence but damn, these pics made me a believer. These are so fluffy and look like anything but quinoa (and I LOVE quinoa but a little iffy about it in my breakfast). I am so trying this one weekend.

Leave a Reply

