Now Trending [2]

When you’re reading this, I’m probably headed out west for a few days. Just kidding, I’m probably still sitting at my desk at work and getting anxiety about all the stuff I have to get done before I leave. Anyway – have something to talk about at brunch this week other than the Olympics and Polar Vortexies with some cool stuff I’ve caught this week.

Life

  • My favorite author, Bret Easton Ellis and my favorite rapper, Kanye West, are working on a screenplay together. (Note to self: still need to see The Canyons, even though it looks awful/Lindsay Lohan was only talented in Mean Girls.)
  • If people in Antarctica can find love via Tinder, maybe I should give it a try.
  • I’m such a food/diet snob which is probably also why I’m single. This guy will let you know if the person you’re dating/hooking up with/married to is a good match based on what’s in their fridge. To be fair to all guilty parties, I figured I would show you watch on my fridge on a Wednesday night two nights before I leave for almost a week:
whats in my fridge dating analysis | almost getting it together

Here’s what you’re seeing: Lululemon bag with my lunch and snacks for Thursday (leftover stir fry, brie cheese, turkey, carrots & hummus), my dad’s camp water bottle, random condiments (sugar free pasta sauce, homemade pesto, bbq sauce), brown eggs, oatmeal experiment in a bowl, individual yogurts for dad, plain 0% and 2% Greek yogurt for me, no-salt added cottage cheese, cut up lemons, pears, apples, random roasted veggies, cheese, egg whites – oh and I think that’s a jar of deer parts in the corner. There is also a half-empty bottle of white wine just so you don’t think I’m a total teetotaler.

Food

  • I can’t stop thinking about this Spinach Artichoke Quinoa Casserole from Making Thyme for Health.
  • I never have the patience for baked oats, but I may try making this Cheesecake Baked Oatmeal next week and having it the next day warmed up.
  • I have this secret weird thing about last meals of people on death row. It’s one of those things I get sucked in researching on Wikipedia for hours. This is a visual of famous people’s last meals from Cleopatra to Princess Di.

Listen

  • My friend (and tastemaker) Emily played “Take Me to Church” by Hozier for me in the car the other day and I can’t get over it. Take a listen.

Chat with me:
Do you judge people by what’s in their fridge? What does your ideal mate have in their fridge?

18 thoughts on “Now Trending [2]

  1. Bret Easton Ellis and Kanye? Hmmm, this will be interesting and I’m a little skeptical (but intrigued…..and I want to go read Less Than Zero again!)

    I’m a total snob about fridges and wants in them. I try to keep mine simple but lately it’s been a bunch of beer (I worked a beer festival and got a lot for free), veggies in bulk from Costco and sauces since I’m a condiment whore. But then again there’s chocolate and gummy bears in there….thats all my boyfriend, but I won’t hate.

  2. My ideal mate let’s me take full possession of the fridge and doesn’t make a comment about the lack of organization or excessive amount of tupperware. My ideal mate also runs out of the bedroom in his superhero boxers and yells pancakes!!! Yup, I’ve definitely met my match!

  3. Haha I don’t think I’ve ever thought about that till now. Since Joe and I share a fridge these days, I know what’s in it, and before that I never saw hid fridge in his base in Tennessee. As long as it had milk, eggs, ketchup, cheese, and bagels, though, I would have thought he’s a keeper 😉

  4. I’ve got to check out that death row meals that Ang mentioned 🙂

    I think that is so weird about matching you based on whats in your fridge particularly because men and women can eat so differently sometimes!

    I drooled at the cheesecake oatmeal too!

  5. Well seeing that it’s now 3 days since you wrote this post, I sure hope your still not sitting @ work. LOL. I already have a wonderful husband, so I almost fee guilty answering this question – esp. since if I weren’t in the picture his fridge would look extremely different than how I make it LOL.

Leave a Reply

