Overnight Carrot Cake Quinoa

I’m all about using whatever random things I have left in the fridge and making a meal out of them. This overnight quinoa is no exception. I had a little extra quinoa from my Pumpkin Quinoa Breakfast Muffin and a little shredded carrot and apple from attempting to make carrot cake waffles.

Last year, I wasn’t as into quinoa as I am now. I was making overnight quinoa to try and use up quinoa. Then I learned about rinsing it before you cook it and everything made sense. Now it’s my second favorite grain (after oats, of course).

This can be sugar free if you don’t add the maple syrup (I did it without but I have super-sensitivity to sugar right now after not eating it for so long) and vegan if you don’t use yogurt. What’s life like without the creamy goodness of Greek yogurt, though? I’m lactose sensitive and I still eat it every day (totally worth it).

Overnight Carrot Cake Quinoa

Overnight Carrot Cake Quinoa | Almost Getting It Together

Getting fancy with text overlay.

Overnight Carrot Cake Quinoa | Almost Getting It Together

Gluten free, potentially sugar free and vegan breakfast.

 

What you’ll need:
3/4 cup cooked quinoa
1/3 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/4 cup shredded carrot
1/4 cup shredded green apple
1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbps shredded coconut
1 tbsp maple syrup (optional)
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon, plus more for topping
1/8 tsp nutmeg

What to do:
Put quinoa and chia seeds in a mason jar or other container and shake to combine.
Add coconut milk, almond milk, carrots, apple, vanilla, maple syrup (if using) cinnamon and nutmeg and shake to combine again.
Put in refrigerator overnight.
In the morning, top with Greek yogurt, coconut and additional cinnamon. Try not to get yogurt on your hands digging out the last bite like me.

Overnight Carrot Cake Quinoa | Almost Getting It Together

A jar of protein and nutrients.

Overnight Carrot Cake Quinoa Nutrition Info (with unsweetened coconut milk and no maple syrup)

Chat with me:
How do you feel about quinoa? What foods do you not eat?

12 thoughts on “Overnight Carrot Cake Quinoa

  1. Okay so I thought you came up with a way to miraculously cook quinoa overnight. You didn’t but this still sounds all kinds of awesome. I ate overnight oats this morning! Mocha oats in fact. I am contemplating if I should post the title of them as Moats or if people will think I’m crazy. They already think I’m cray I suppose. This was a lame comment but I didn’t have coffee this morning because I ate it in my Moats. Coffee needed NOW.

    • Actually – I think I have cooked it overnight. I don’t remember right off hand, I did it last year, but I think I just let it soak in almond milk and yogurt overnight. Maybe I’ll experiment. And I replied to this via text but #breakfasttwinning for the win!

Leave a Reply

