Blueberry Sweet Potato Muffins

These muffins were made months ago, devoured and basically forgotten about, minus the notebook on my desk with the recipe scratched hastily on it. They are a result of the Great Sweet Potato Debacle of 2013, in which I was trying every possible way to use up sweet potatoes (note to self: there are sweet potato gnocchi in the freezer). Unless you live in Hawaii, it’s been too cold for smoothies, I already made enough gnocchi for the Italian army and the hummus had already been conquered. What to do with the last sad, sad cup of mashed sweet potatoes?

I had been craving blueberry muffins prior to making these so I figured, why not dump whatever random blueberries I have left in the fridge into the mix? So I did. And luckily they were delicious, used up my sweet potatoes and cured my blueberry muffin craving – oh and gluten free, too.. The only problem is they aren’t the most beautiful muffins in the world but that’s the way the muffin crumbles (sorry, had to).

I’m obsessed with making sure I eat veggies with all meals and most snacks, although I’m sure I eat more veggies annually than the state of South Dakota (I seriously just guessed that at first then looked it up to be sure). I ate these for dessert crumbled into Greek yogurt or pre-workout. Or sometimes with nut butter as I passed the fridge. It happens.

Blueberry Sweet Potato Muffins
Makes 12 muffins

gluten free sweet potato blueberry muffins | almost getting it together

Gluten free blueberry muffins – need I say more?

What you’ll need:
1 1/3 cup blueberries
1 cup sweet potato, mashed
1 banana
1 cup old fashioned oats
3 eggs
1 tbsp maple syrup
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp baking powder

What to do:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Grease a muffin tin with coconut oil.
Put sweet potato, banana and eggs in blender and blend until smooth.
Add oatmeal, maple syrup, cinnamon and baking powder to sweet potato mixture and continue blending.
Carefully fold in blueberries.
Pour mixture into muffin tins until tin is 3/4 of the way full.
Bake for 12-15 minutes or until tops begin to brown or a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

gluten free sweet potato blueberry muffins | almost getting it together

Isn’t it scary how yams can masquerade as sweet potatoes?

Gluten Free Blueberry Sweet Potato Muffin Nutrition Info

Chat with me:
What is your way to bake with veggies? Do you have any other substitutions for bases besides pumpkin/sweet potato?

25 thoughts on “Blueberry Sweet Potato Muffins

  1. Oh wowwww creative! Seriously though I wouldn’t think to do anything else with sweet potatoes haha but these sound so good! Bake with veggies ummm….no. Lol but seriously…let me know when you known because now that I think about it I pretty much never do.

  2. Pingback: Buy Real Cheese [Thinking Out Loud #6] | Nutty for Life

  3. Yum I love sweet potatoes for breakfast and these muffins look awesome! I also love them for breakfast mixed with yogurt or in your oatmeal, just in case you ever have a huge amount to get through again 🙂

Leave a Reply

