Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

I almost forgot tomorrow was Valentine’s Day. I had planned on posting an entirely different recipe until I realized that February 14th happened to be a short day away. Clearly I’m single. Also I’m not into sharing things with other people, especially days that revolve around me, so even when I haven’t been single for Valentine’s Day, I’ve been off it.

This weekend I was craving chickpea chocolate chip cookies. No, I’d never had one before – but I knew I was craving them (see above – clearly not pregnant). Luckily, I had some chickpeas left over from a Goop recipe (millet falafel) that I wasn’t into enough to make again.

After my first beet experiment, I am hooked on cooking with beets. I also remembered that most – if not all – healthy red velvet recipes involve beets for natural red food coloring. They’re also naturally sweet so no need to add sugar (if you’re a freak like me with a fear of refined sugar).

These cookies are full of protein and fiber – a great post-workout treat or middle of the day snack for some staying power. Much better than the cookies full of empty calories from butter and sugar! They’re also vegan and gluten free – and can easily be raw if you put them in the fridge to harden instead of baking them. Eat the batter. It literally won’t kill you (unless you have a nut/chickpea/beet allergy).

Vegan & Gluten Free Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 16 cookies

red velvet chocolate chip cookies | almost getting it together

Full of nutrients, fiber & protein – free of guilt (unless you eat the entire batch).

red velvet chocolate chip cookies | almost getting it together

I like how when they cooked the middles weren’t as red!

What you’ll need:
1 cup cooked chickpeas, rinsed
1 banana
1/2 cup beets
1/3 cup almond butter
1/3 cup unsweetened carob chips
2 TBSP unsweetened almond milk
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking powder

What to do:
Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray a cookie sheet with coconut oil or other non-stick spray.
Place chickpeas, beets and almond milk in food processor and mix until smooth.
Add almond butter, vanilla extract and baking powder and continue mixing.
Fold in carob chips with a fork.
Place spoonfuls of ‘dough’ onto cookie sheet about two inches apart.
Bake 12-15 minutes, until cookies begin browning on top.

red velvet chocolate chip cookies | almost getting it together

Bringing back out the Valentine’s themed plate.

red velvet chocolate chip cookies | almost getting it together

Take the gun, leave the cookies.

Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookie Nutrition Facts

Chat with me:
Healthiffing treats – worth it or just eat the real thing?

33 thoughts on “Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I forgive you for not liking v-day since it’s the only thing we don’t have in common! Except maybe the fact that I hate gwyneth paltrow…I said it.

    Even though you’re anti, please link these up tomorrow! Mostly cause I’m considering you a valentine but also cause I didn’t sleep last night thinking no one would link up. I think I have newfound rejection issues…

    For the record, next year when you and Ben are planning your wedding, you will have different thoughts on vday πŸ˜‰

    • Can you have Cannelloni beans or lima beans? Those might work. I seriously researched this looking for an answer and couldn’t find a good one. Really it’s the texture of them – so maybe some coconut flour and an egg would give the same result.

  2. These look absolutely delicious! I’ve never cooked with beet juice before, I’m always scared it would taste of beetroot which I don’t like, I know it is silly as everyone I’ve spoken to says you can’t taste it.

    My boyfriend is anti valentines day too but I forced him to at least exchange cards πŸ˜‰

  3. Wow, those are so creative! I’m more of a “go for the real thing” kind of person, but only because I have more of a “salty tooth” than a sweet tooth πŸ˜‰ Those would be a nice healthy treat though!

  4. Yes please! They sound great! I made chickpea cookies once before, but they didnt look anything like this! I love that you made them into red velvet! Great idea! Definitely want to give them a try πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

