The Best Ten Minute Gluten Free Pizza Crust

As I try to remember the day I was hardcore craving pizza after a long run, I can’t exactly remember which day it was. (Note: went into iPhoto see what day these photos were taken.) Turns out it wasn’t a long run day at all, but simply just a day of spin class, hanging out with my friend Paige and going to Lululemon. Anyway, I was starving, craving pizza and it was a 21 Day Sugar Detox day. I was craving pizza before 21DSD so it was dumb of me not to eat the real stuff beforehand.

Anyway, as a fan of the microwave muffin/microwave cake, I realized I could probably make a pizza crust pretty easily with eggs, coconut flour and some deadly infrared flight from the Science Box (if you haven’t seen American Hustle do yourself a favor and see it so you get the reference).

What are the key pillars of pizza crust? In my world, it’s flour, yeast, water, olive oil and eggs. Sub out a grain-free flour and baking powder for yeast and you probably have a decent pizza crust. Plus the crust is just a vessel for toppings. These pictures aren’t from the recipe I perfected though, I’m not going to lie. I made a better non-paleo crust that tasted better but looked the same so I don’t feel like I’m tricking you.

This is super easy to make. It seems scary but it isn’t. Also this pizza was delicious and tasted like normal pizza so I didn’t feel terrible after eating it nor did I feel deprived.

The Best Ten Minute Gluten Free Pizza

 ten minute gluten free pizza | almost getting it together

This pizza will be ready before you have time to call the delivery guy.

What you’ll need:
2 tbsp chickpea flour (or coconut flour if paleo)
1 1/2 tbsp gluten free flour (or almond meal if paleo)
1 tbsp almond meal
1 egg
1 tsp olive oil
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch of Himalyan pink sea salt (or non-fancy, non-pH balancing salt)

Optional toppings
Pizza sauce
Cheese
Veggies
Protein (chicken, prosciutto, pepperoni, etc.)

ten minute gluten free pizza | almost getting it together

Remember on The Office when Michael Scott held the pizza delivery kid hostage?

What to do:
Preheat oven to 450F.
Mix all your ingredients in a small bowl.
Rub a very light layer of olive oil on a round plate. (Or spray with non-stick cooking spray)
Pour mixture on plate and microwave for 2 1/2 minutes.
Take crust out of microwave and let cool for a few minutes.
Place cooled crust on pizza stone and top however you like.
Bake for 7-8 minutes until your crust browns and your cheese is melty and delicious.

 ten minute gluten free pizza | almost getting it together

Pizza with red sauce, mushrooms, spinach and onion topped with mozzarella cheese and crushed red pepper flakes.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust Nutrition Facts
(LOOK HOW HIGH IN PROTEIN & FIBER THIS IS! If you’re worried about the cholesterol, I took the egg out of the nutrition info out of curiosity and the cholesterol went down to 0… and we all know eggs have cholesterol so let’s settle down.)

Chat with me:
What are your favorite pizza toppings? Did you see American Hustle?

16 thoughts on “The Best Ten Minute Gluten Free Pizza Crust

  1. I saw American Hustle! The Science Box led to some of my favorite moments in the movie 🙂 I just realized I haven’t had pizza in a while. That needs to be fixed. I’ve seen chickpea flour all over the place but I don’t have any! I’m also out of coconut flour… problems.

    • I actually saved the day once at work because Jonathan almost put a tin pan in the microwave (hi Jonathan if you’re reading this). I ran out of coconut flour at the end of last week – it was tragic.

      I bought chickpea flour at the Co-op…. the only decent thing in there -_-

  2. Hahahaha love the American Hustle reference 🙂 My fav pizza toppings are usually veggies or some type of chicken (buffalo or bbq). Joe made a phenomenal buffalo chicken pizza on friday for dinner with a homemade ranch sauce using Greek yogurt. We ate it in less than five minutes…and I forgot to take a pic 😦 Just means he’ll have to make it again asap 😉

  3. Well hot damn – I had this post up to read yesterday before dinner & got busy and never had the chance to read… which truly is a shame since we had pizza last night. Except ours was on a flat out pizza crust topped w/ bbq sauce, cheddar cheese & roasted shaved brussel sprouts. So delicious!

  4. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday [4]: Savannah and Birthday Eats | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

