Two Bite Gluten Free, Sugar Free Paleo Brownies

I used to be afraid of beets. Isn’t that weird? They are so delicious! Something about them – I thought they would taste “earthy”. I love greens and veggies and green juice, don’t get me wrong – but root vegetables freak me out a little because I’m afraid of them tasting like dirt. I must have had a bad beet experience once.

gluten free brownies paleo brownies sugar free brownies  nutrition facts | almost getting it together

Get ready to turn the beet up.

gluten free brownies paleo brownies sugar free brownies nutrition facts | almost getting it together

Themed photo styling, what up?

I’ve always seen baked good recipes calling for beets, so I decided it was finally my time to take the plunge. Also red things are perfect for Valentine’s Day… except the cocoa powder kind of kills the red vibe and they’re just normal brown brownies.

Disclaimer: These brownies are a little bittersweet because there isn’t any sugar. I thought they were amazing, but my taste-tester [my dad] thought they were “different”. He is also used to sugar and I am used to the lack thereof. If you want a sweeter brownie, sub out some of the almond butter for maple syrup – a 1:1 tbsp ratio should do the trick.

Two Bite Gluten Free, Sugar Free Paleo Brownies

gluten free brownies paleo brownies sugar free brownies  nutrition facts | almost getting it together

The sweetest little sugar-free Valentine’s Day treat.

What you’ll need:
1 banana
1/2 cup beets
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/3 cup almond butter
1/3 cup coconut milk
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda

What to do:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Put banana, beets and almond butter into food processor Vitamix and blend until smooth. Don’t be afraid to give the cute pink puree a taste test if you’re scared. I did.
Add the rest of your ingredients and continue blending until smooth.
Spray a mini-muffin pan with coconut oil (or whatever you use to grease pans with).
Fill muffin tins two-thirds full with batter.
Bake for 8-10 minutes.
Impress everyone with your super healthy treats!

gluten free brownies paleo brownies sugar free brownies  nutrition facts | almost getting it together

Please, have four of my brownies for the caloric content of two pre-packaged ones.

Note: WATCH THESE GUYS CLOSELY. You really are only baking them to form them, there’s not anything in them that isn’t safe to eat raw (not that I’m one to talk, but if you’re paranoid of that kind of thing good for you). Test their done-ness (is that a word?) by poking carefully with a toothpick or fork. It should come out a little moist. (Sorry for that word usage!)

Two Bite Gluten Free, Sugar Free Paleo Brownie Nutrition Facts

Chat with me:
Are you a Valentine’s Day lover or hater? What’s your most memorable Valentine’s Day?

20 thoughts on “Two Bite Gluten Free, Sugar Free Paleo Brownies

  1. Oooooh yum. I want to make these today because I conveniently have a half cup of beets in my fridge, which I never do lol. I also am in need of a treat to get me through the week and the last few days of this! Next weekend I am going ham on vodka sodas.

  2. These look good! I’m still more than a little afraid of beets haha, but this does look like a way I could consume them with little tears. Chocolate solves all in my opinion 😉 I am honestly not much of a Valentine’s person, and I can’t even give you a good reason why haha. It’s just never been my thing, which Joe thinks is slightly crazy since I’m a girl and supposed to love it apparently, but he gets off easy then, which I think he appreciates 😉

  3. I only sort of freaked out the first time I ate beets because it turned something that’s why too TMI for your blog pink. I called the doctor I was so freaked out. Remind me in my email to you to describe the time I called my doctor about my blue tongue. Ugh I have problems! Thanks for making my day yesterday 🙂

    • OMG that’s so funny. E-mail me/text me the doctor story. I can’t tell whether my doctor hates me or loves me. She told me I need to see a therapist when I asked to see a nutritionist soooo… there’s that haha. I just want to know what I should be eating!

  4. I’ve never worked w/ beets before – to be honest, I’m a bit hesitant and nervous. Oh & I’m not too sure I want red hands. I really do just need to say F it & dive right in one of these days, huh? Lol

  5. I’ve never eaten beets because I’m afraid of what they’ll taste like……DON’T JUDGE. These look so good and simple to make though and I have all of the other ingredients in my apartment right now. Soooo I guess I should bite the bullet and go get some beets!

  6. Pingback: Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

