What I Ate Wednesday [2]: Long Runs & Sugar Detoxing

I almost didn’t write this post. I ate basically the same things on my long run day as I did on the previous day I documented for What I Ate Wednesday. Which is surprising – usually on long run days I eat anything that stands still. This Sunday I only did eight miles because the snow was nuts (I know, that makes me sound like a real jerk – only eight miles) so I’m pretty positive that’s why my hunger was in check. Also, I have figured out that long run days don’t mean eat everything I can find – it means just eat a little more than normal.

Sorry I’m not sorry for the multitude of iPhone photos coming up.

Breakfast: Two Minute Pumpkin Quinoa Breakfast Muffin

two minute microwave mug cake quinoa pumpkin breakfast | almost getting it together

Actual good photo taken from the recipe.

I’ve always had the all-or-nothing mentality when it comes to food: I’ll literally eat the same things every day for 2-3 months then move on to the next thing. Right now, the quinoa pumpkin breakfast muffin is doing it for me so I’m not fixing what isn’t broken.

 

Lunch: Grilled chicken salad with grilled veggies and feta cheese

what I ate Wednesday grilled chicken salad | almost getting it together

Salad with grilled chicken and veggies.

When I got in from my run I was frozen. I was at my grandparents because my grandmother and I had a spa day on Saturday and I was snowed in (I didn’t hate it) so when I got home she grilled some chicken for me and I had a huge salad. My fave.

 

Snack: Yogurt with cinnamon apples

what I ate Wednesday yogurt with apples | almost getting it together

I try to eat all my meals in mugs or bowls.

About an hour or two after my salad was finished, I was hungry again (long run probs). I ignored it for an hour or so, focusing on some work I had to get done, then microwaved half a chopped apple with some vanilla and cinnamon and ate it over plain Greek yogurt.

 

Dinner: Spaghetti squash with cod, asparagus, capers and pesto

Spaghetti squash with cod, asparagus, capers and pesto | almost getting it together

Once again – a bowl of something.

Dinner was once again basically cleaning out the fridge into a bowl. I had some spaghetti squash, random asparagus, random cod from failed fish sticks, and a little bit of pesto left over. I added parmesan cheese and capers.

 

Dessert: Roasted kabocha squash with cottage cheese

roasted kabocha squash | almost getting it together

I need a 12-step program for my squash addiction.

I’m literally addicted to squash. Thank God I found out Oriental grocery stores sell kabocha squash under the code name “Japanese Yam”. My life is once again complete. Topped this deliciousness with some almond butter and cinnamon. Perfection.

Chat with me:
Do you think my eating habits are weird/unhealthy? Do you eat the same foods for months at a time?

15 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday [2]: Long Runs & Sugar Detoxing

  1. I do the same thing with food which is why I don’t post to WIAW every week.. since it’d be the same thing over and over again. Right now my go-to breakfast is toast with almond butter and bananas. I really want to try your pumpkin quinoa muffin recipe soon!

  2. I just really need to go to that Oriental (is that P.C.? genuine question lol) store I told you about. I neeeeeed a “Japanese yam” in my life. Can you believe I’ve never cooked with capers? You probably can actually. I miss you.

  3. Yes! To the eating the same thing every day for a few months that is haha at least where breakfast and lunch are concerned. Right now I’m on oats for breakfast and garbage salads with bread or a sweet potato on the side. Sooo good!

  4. I pretty much eat the same thing every day and have for years. But I try and change each meal up every day in some way. Like I eat egg white oats almost every morning, but I always change the add-ins. And I have a HUGE salad for lunch every day but I change up the protein, veggies and dressing. And dinner is always some sort of protein and veggies. It’s just what I love and want to eat. However, since linking up with WIAW’s, I’ve been inspired to try new meal options.
    All your meals look awesome by the way!!! And after searching for Kabocha squash after trying my first one a few months ago and absolutely loving it, I also finally found them at an oriental market. I was ecstatic!

  5. Pingback: The Best Ten Minute Gluten Free Pizza Crust | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

