Two Minute Pumpkin Quinoa Breakfast Muffin

If you haven’t picked up on it, breakfast is my FAVORITE meal. My biggest concern with the 21 Day Sugar Detox was breakfast – what would I eat? I NEED something vaguely sweet in the morning. I’m not a savory breakfast person. I know it’s better for you blah, blah, blah – breakfast is the happiest part of my morning, you can’t take that away from me.

Angela inspired me to make some quinoa a la Goop. I figured I could have quinoa with almond milk, almond butter, nuts and banana for breakfast and pretend it was oatmeal – I’ve made overnight oat style quinoa in the past and enjoyed it. Then I started thinking – people make pumpkin quinoa, I could add some and make it more substantial and get some veggies. I then remembered the key to mug cakes and a delicious source of protein – eggs. Thus, after luckily throwing a bunch of things together on my first try, the Two Minute Pumpkin Quinoa Breakfast Muffin was born. And it’s honestly even better than my pumpkin pie oatmeal.

This keeps me full until 2 p.m. Granted, I try to eat breakfast between 9:30-10 so it happens that way, but I’m satiated from all the protein and fiber. Go ahead, make it, go crazy. Send me a photo of how you make it.

Two Minute Pumpkin Quinoa Breakfast Muffin

two minute microwave mug cake quinoa pumpkin breakfast | almost getting it together

A protein and fiber packed bowl of deliciousness.

 

What you’ll need:
1/4 cup cooked quinoa
1/4 cup pumpkin puree
1/3 cup egg whites
1 tbsp coconut flour
1 tbsp coconut milk
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/8 tsp baking powder

Optional Toppings:
Almond butter
Chopped nuts
Unsweetened carob chips
Greek yogurt
Sliced banana

 

two minute microwave mug cake quinoa pumpkin breakfast | almost getting it together

Getting real risky with the food styling.

two minute microwave mug cake quinoa pumpkin breakfast | almost getting it together

The saddest part of my day is when this bowl is empty.

 

What to do:
Spray a ramekin with non-stick spray (I use coconut oil).
Put everything into ramekin and mix well.
Microwave for 2 minutes – WATCH YOUR MICROWAVE. This gets really big and could explode if you aren’t careful. It hasn’t exploded on me yet, but don’t hold me responsible if yours does. I warned you.
Carefully turn ramekin upside down into a bowl. Your ramekin will probably be really hot so use an Ove Glove. (Or if you’re lazy like me, your sleeves.)
Add toppings and enjoy!

Chat with me:
Sweet or savory breakfast?

22 thoughts on “Two Minute Pumpkin Quinoa Breakfast Muffin

  1. Love this (I love anything pumpkin) and love your food styling! It looks good 🙂 Hmmm I go back and forth on sweet vs. savory breakfasts. I’m either 100% committed to eggs and chicken sausage orrrr I just want a nice bowl of cereal.

    • AWWW thank you for the food styling comp it truly means a lot lol 🙂 I wish cereal kept me fuller because it seriously is one of my favorite foods. Have you had the fancy chicken sausages from Market District/Whole Foods counter? I’m obsessed.

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday [1]: Sugar Detox Day 7 | Almost Getting It Together

  3. These pics are lookin’ good babe! Love it. I also love that this is made with things we all probably have in our cupboards already. Super efficient and filling and yummy 🙂 I have always been the sweet breakfast girl but lately I have been just as ok with savory. Don’t know what’s happening… oh wait yes I do.

  4. I’m right there with you- I love sweet things in the morning! If I could, I would eat a donut for breakfast every day. Sadly, I know I can’t [haha], so I usually have plain greek yogurt with berries and honey. It’s healthy AND it satisfies my sweet tooth.

  5. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday [2]: Long Runs & Sugar Detoxing | Almost Getting It Together

  6. Dude you need to contact bloglovin…your posts aren’t appearing!!! I had to click a backlink from Davs to find this! I eat breakfast around that time too- actually going to go to early morning starting next week argh! Savoury AND sweet. you need both 😉

  7. Pingback: The Best Ten Minute Gluten Free Pizza Crust | Almost Getting It Together

  8. Pingback: Overnight Carrot Cake Quinoa | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

