What I Ate Wednesday [1]: Sugar Detox Day 7

In case you haven’t seen me in person/read my other blog posts/been on my Twitter/Instagram – I’m doing a 21 Day Sugar Detox. I’ve always wanted to do a WIAW and thought that some days in my life (long-run days, sugar detox days) might be more interesting to show so this is the first time I remembered (for the most part) to photograph what I ate.

Basically I can’t have gluten or added sugar (natural or artificial) for three weeks. This includes fruits (except for one banana or green apple a day), which I thought would be crazy hard because I eat fruit constantly. Other than day two when I binge ate an apple (think how Mango from SNL would eat an apple), it’s been going well. The only two things I would say were that my long run on Sunday was much more difficult than normal and I also think I had a little harder time recovering from it without carbs.

You’re supposed to keep starchy vegetables to a minimum, as well as grains to a 1/2 cup, but you’re allowed more if you’re active. Since I’m still logging 20+ miles a week, I decided to just take this liberally and eat whatever as long as it wasn’t sugar, gluten or extra fruit (for the most part).

Ignore the crappy iPhone photos and that most were eaten out of Tupperware – I eat a lot of meals at my desk, sorry. Also not pictured is half an apple and two egg-broccoli muffins with some avocado. Forgot I was doing this until they were in my stomach.

Breakfast – Quinoa Pumpkin Microwave Muffin
(click-thru for recipe above!)

pumpkin quinoa microwave muffin | almost getting it together

Topped with 1/2 sliced banana, some unsweetened carob chips, chopped pecans and Greek Yogurt.

Lunch – Salad with chicken

salad with grilled veggies & chicken thighs | almost getting it together

Mixed greens, grilled veggies from the grocery store, mustard chicken thighs and my new go-to homemade dressing (recipe also coming soon). Oh, and some feta.

Snack – Un-photographed broccoli-egg muffins with avocado and 1/2 green apple

Dinner – Spaghetti squash with sautéed veggies and chicken sausage

broccoli with coconut aminos | almost getting it together

Couldn’t stop thinking about broccoli with coconut aminos so I ate these leftovers while my dinner was heating.

spaghetti squash | almost getting it together

Spaghetti squash with sautéed veggies (mushroom, peppers and onion) & chicken sausage, topped with pasta sauce.

Dessert – Sweet potato with cottage cheese

sweet potato with cottage cheese | almost getting it together

Sweet potato with cottage cheese, cinnamon, chopped pecans and unsweetened carob chips.

Chat with me:
Have you ever done the 21 Day Sugar Detox? What did you eat today?

26 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday [1]: Sugar Detox Day 7

  1. I actually think I could handle your version of 21SD. When I looked into doing it I couldn’t fathom 1/2 cup grains, a single green apple and no dairy but I like how you changed it up and are still getting the benefit. Yesterday I only ate sweet things for breakfast,lunch and dinner. I have cooked a single thing in a week! Food blogger fail…I think I need a detox!

    • Yes, I couldn’t do it the real way. I also think it’s a little unhealthy to have THAT much fat… I’m loving avocados and coconut products (in moderation) but I need some complex carbs. And before this I literally only ate sweet things – now I’m down to sweet for breakfast, dessert, and maybe a snack (half an apple over plain Greek Yogurt today).

  2. Definitely post that breakfast muffin recipe! I’ve been loving quinoa for breakfast lately. Eating so little fruit seems like it would be hard, but power to you! I’d love to hear your thoughts after the 21 days

  3. On day 18 of the 21DSD right now 🙂 Today I had a piece of quiche I made last night with bulletproof coffee and a cup of bone broth for breakfast, leftover pork chop and cabbage for lunch, cucumber and radishes with guac for a snack and salmon with bok choy and sweet potato for din. About to peel a grapefruit for a little “dessert” right now! Nice job making sure you get enough carbs to fuel your runs!

    • That’s how I am… at first it was so hard but then you think about all the things that are sweet naturally – bananas, apples, squash, sweet potatoes… I’ve been CRAVING squash for dessert. And almond butter. It’s really life changing, I didn’t think I would be able to do it.

  4. Dude! WTF. You’re blog has been MIA in my bloglovin for ages….hence my catch up on your blog! Had to delete you and re add you.. Damn bloglovin.

    Anyway, for a sugar detox those meals are nice looking- although the lack of grains and fruit would be tough for me…are fats unlimited?

  5. You make sugar detoxing look good! I’ve been doing a general ‘no sugar no grains’ this past month, with the odd ‘whoops, chocolate happened’ moment thrown in. The longer I do it, the less I find I crave sugary foods, and I’m making sure to keep my fats high so I’m not hangry at any point. So far so good!

  6. Pingback: Two Minute Pumpkin Quinoa Breakfast Muffin | Almost Getting It Together

  7. Pingback: Now Trending [1] | Almost Getting It Together

  8. Pingback: Getting it Together Thursdays: Collect Moments, Not Things | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

