Sweet Potato Hummus

I’m currently 20:56 hours into a 21 day (or 504 hour) sugar detox. I just had a bite of sweet potato and it was like angels singing in my mouth. (Sorry, potentially hallucinating from lack of sugar.)

A long, long time ago there was a holiday called Christmas. I took over cooking the sides from my grandmother this year as to protect myself and my family from butter overload and to give her the chance to relax and enjoy the holiday. Also I generally just wanted to cook Christmas dinner (my grandfather made the ham).

 

christmas dinner | almost getting it together

Christmas spread.

 

mashed sweet potatoes | almost getting it together

Too many potatoes.

 

I have no perspective of how much food to cook for any given amount of people. I’ll either cook too little or too much. In the case of Christmas dinner, my grandmother had purchased 10 sweet potatoes so I decided to mash all 10 sweet potatoes for a dinner of eight people. Let’s just say there were A LOT of leftover mashed sweet potatoes. You can only eat a few spoonfuls of mashed sweet potato before you are over mashed sweet potato (unless you’re on a sugar detox, of course).

This is the first of two recipes I made with the leftover sweet potato. I took the same recipe to a party (with fresh potato, of course) a few weeks later and it was a hit. People said it tasted like cookie dough, so there you go.

Sweet Potato Hummus

sweet potato hummus | almost getting it together

Getting fancy with my food props.

 

sweet potato hummus | almost getting it together

Hummus close-up.

 

 

What you’ll need:
1 cup mashed sweet potato
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
3 TBSP almond butter
1 TBSP maple syrup
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp cinnamon

What to do:
Put everything in a blender or food processor. Blend until smooth. Serve with apple slices, pita chips, etc.

Nutrition facts for sweet potato hummus. (Makes 18 two heaping tablespoon sized servings).

sweet potato hummus | almost getting it together

Hummus close-up.

Chat with me:
What’s your favorite type of hummus?

14 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Hummus

  1. I am obessed with both hummus and sweet potatoes, this is brilliant and I will be pinnning for sure! Also don’t be surprised if I make an adaption and post about it! Don’t worry I’ll give you the credit 😉

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday [1]: Sugar Detox Day 7 | Almost Getting It Together

  3. You may have made a believer in me…..I love sweet potatoes and I love hummus but have never been too keen on the two together (can I say more words starting with two or to?). I tend to sway towards the hotter stuff but since my food processor broke in my move, have been homemade hummus-less. I smell a purchase coming up…..

  4. Pingback: Blueberry Sweet Potato Muffins | Almost Getting It Together

  5. Pingback: My favourite bloggers recipes this month | Sprouts n Squats

Leave a Reply

