PB&J Oatmeal

I started working on my Montreal recap for the blog but it seems so daunting at 10 p.m. that I decided instead to share my current go-to breakfast: peanut butter & jelly oats. Here’s a sad story: yesterday at the store I couldn’t commit to buying a container of pomegranate arils because the expiration dates were today and tomorrow and I never finish a container in two days. Have you ever had expired pomegranate? It’s terrible – so sour. The one thing I probably don’t eat past it’s expiration date (I like to live life on the edge of food poisoning). There was a run on the store because of the cold temperatures/impending snow storm that won’t happen – who knew Pittsburghers LOVED pomegranate (also avocados because they were out of those, too).

Because of my lack of pomegranate last night, I basically couldn’t sleep because what else was I supposed to put in oatmeal? (Spoiler alert: apples, peanut butter & shredded coconut.) Today it was too cold after yoga to even think about going to the store to be disappointed in non-fresh pomegranates, (Don’t think I’m about toΒ cut one up and scoop out the seeds. I’m too lazy for that.) so tomorrow I’ll have to forage around for different oatmeal toppings (probably pears or blueberries in case you are concerned).

I don’t know what it is about pom that makes it taste like jelly when mixed with peanut butter, but trust me, it’s pretty life changing.

 

PB&J Oatmeal

almost getting it together| peanut butter and jelly oatmeal

Give me oatmeal or give me death.

 

You’ll need:
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup almond milk
2 tbsp PB2 (or peanut butter if you’re not into peanut butter flour)
1/4 cup pomegranate arils

What to do:
Cook oatmeal your favorite way with the almond milk and water. I use the crockpot and make a big batch every few days so I can just put on toppings and go in the morning. You might need to add a little almond milk when you warm it up. See how to below.
Add peanut butter.
Add pomegranates.
Become addicted to the easiest breakfast ever.

 

almost getting it together| peanut butter and jelly oatmeal

Childhood nostalgia in a bowl.


How to make crockpot oatmeal (rolled oats version):
Spray crock pot with coconut oil or conversely, add 1 TBSP coconut oil.
Add 3 cups rolled oats.
Add 2 tablespoons chia seeds and mix well.
Add 6 cups of water and 2 cups of almond milk.
Leave on low 4-5 hours until liquid is absorbed and oats are fluffy.

 

Chat with me:
How should I top my oatmeal tomorrow? What is your favorite way to eat oatmeal?

14 thoughts on “PB&J Oatmeal

  1. This is actually life changing. I try to not add jam to my oats a lot because of the sugar that they might add. I’m totally fine with natural sugar but come on, I need to save a little sugar room for chocolate later in the day πŸ˜‰ I def. have to try this asap. It never even crossed my mind

Leave a Reply

