Carrot Cake Stuffed Pancakes

Sundays are typically my long run days but whenever it’s cold and snowy out it makes it so much harder to get out the door first thing in the morning. I’ve been trying to take Sunday mornings to actually enjoy a morning since Saturdays I’m rushing out the door to yoga. It’s been really nice.

I usually always make pancakes after a long run since it is typically still morning but the past few weekends I’ve had breakfast first. I woke up not knowing what I was craving – but something beyond my usual carb-loading English muffin with almond butter or oatmeal. I remembered I had a bunch of baby carrots that needed to be used up and thought carrot cake muffins would be the perfect way to get some veggies in with breakfast and use up those sad, sad carrots.

The best part of carrot cake muffins/cupcakes/cake is the cream cheese icing in my opinion. I thought Greek yogurt wouldn’t get quite the right texture so I used cottage cheese – so yummy. Also I’m obsessed with cottage cheese so there you go. These really really good and filling – I only ate half the recipe so just double if you have more than two hungry people.

Carrot Cake Stuffed Pancakes
Makes 6 medium sized pancakes.

almost getting it together | clean eating carrot cake pancakes

The buckwheat is hiding all the other colors – but they are amazing.

 

What You’ll Need
1 cup shredded carrots
1/4 cup oats, ground in food processor
1/4 cup buckwheat flour
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup egg whites
1/4 cup almond milk
1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
1/2 cup cottage cheese (I use no-salt added)
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
1 tbsp chopped walnuts
1 tbsp raisins
1/2 tsp all spice
1 tsp cinnamon, divided
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 packet stevia

What to Do
Heat a griddle on medium low and spray with non-stick spray.
Mix dry ingredients (but only 1/2 tsp of the cinnamon) in a bowl.
Make a well and add carrots and wet ingredients (besides maple syrup). Mix together.
Pour batter onto heated griddle. These cook surprisingly fast, so keep an eye on them and flip once.
While pancakes are cooking, mix cottage cheese, maple syrup and remaining cinnamon together.
Plate pancakes and put cottage cheese mixture in between each layer and then add some on top. Enjoy!

 

almost getting it together | clean eating carrot cake pancakes

Carrot cake pancakes.

 

Chat with Me
What’s your weekend morning ritual?

4 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Stuffed Pancakes

  1. Mine is to sleep and hopefully not wake up until my stomach yells at me to inhale pancakes.

    I never used to like cottage cheese but in the last 2 weeks I’ve gone through 6 containers…weird right? I made cheese blintzes with it and now I’m a total convert!

  2. Unfortunately I don’t have any buckwheat flour. Would I be able to sub another type? My mornng ritual is waking up at 4AM – making the husbands breakfast and lunch – blog once he leaves & than take Roxy for a morning walk.

Leave a Reply

