Coconut Cauliflower Rice

I bought a head of cauliflower last week expecting to roast it with some parmesan cheese to get some vegetables the old Sicilian way but I never got around to it. Cauliflower is one of those vegetables I hated growing up. I wasn’t into the texture or smell. Now there’s this whole cauliflower cult that does stuff like make pizza crusts (delicious) and soup and pasta sauce so my past hatred of cauliflower was leaving me feeling left out.

When I’ve made cauliflower pizza crust in the past they always call it “ricing” the cauliflower when you put it in the food processor. I’m all about using vegetables as a base in place of starches (and I’m mainly talking about stir fry/curry and the starch in question is rice) so I thought I should try to jazz up cauliflower to use as rice for a curry.

I’m addicted to buying those bowls of stir-fry cut veggies from Trader Joe’s. I hate cutting veggies and being able to just throw a container into the wok and stir for 15 minutes is so much more appealing ton me. Because of my addiction, I’ve been buying a container every week or so and making lots of stir fries. I was craving curry and remembered I had a bottle of red curry sauce from TJs as well and this cauliflower rice was the base to an amazing, quick dinner. I should photograph the rest of my stir fry as another recipes since I added a few things besides the sauce.

I think you could even eat this stuff for breakfast, maybe even with some fancy sweet sausage or fruit. Besides killing yet another Vitamix tamper (you think I would have learned after the first time), this was fairly simple and will probably become a weekly staple just to have on hand.

Coconut Cauliflower Rice

almost getting it together | Coconut Cauliflower Rice

Coconut cauliflower rice – topped with a little extra cinnamon

What You’ll Need
1 head of cauliflower (mine was about 5 cups if you’re using frozen or pre chopped or something)
1 can of light coconut milk
1 tsp coconut oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp coconut sugar

What to Do
Put your cauliflower into a food processor (NOT A VITAMIX THAT WAS A PAIN IN THE ASS) and process until the pieces are rice shaped.
Melt coconut oil in large sauté pot on medium.
Add cauliflower “rice” and coconut milk to pan. Cook on medium until cauliflower begins to brown and coconut milk is evaporated (it took mine about 25 minutes to fully cook).
Add cinnamon and coconut sugar and stir to combine. Use anywhere you would rice!

almost getting it together | Coconut Cauliflower Rice

Delicious coniferous veggie.

Chat with Me:
What foods did you previously hate that you now love?

10 thoughts on “Coconut Cauliflower Rice

  1. If this tastes anything like the cauliflower “rice” pudding I made then it must be divine! I am so on the cauliflower train. It was actually one of the few veggies I ate growing up and now I’m in awe at it’s versatility. Seriously, you can replace anything with cauliflower!

Leave a Reply

