Spill It Sunday [1]

I decided to jump on the healthy living blogger wagon and do a “link up”. I think it’s a fun idea to connect with other bloggers and I love talking about myself so it made sense.

I creep on Arman’s blog “The Big Man’s World” (my blog reader is insane – so many people out there inspire me when it comes to food, fitness, fashion, and lifestyle) and thought I would participate in his inaugural “Spill It Sunday” where I answer five questions about myself. I hate selfies but this basically requires one so there you go.

The big man's world

1. What is your cultural background?
Half-Italian (1/4 Southern Italian (Calabrian & Sicilian) and a 1/4 Northern Italian) and the other 50% is a mix of British & Western European.

2. What was your most memorable birthday and why?
My most memorable birthday is definitely my 20th birthday. I was studying abroad in Hong Kong and we rented this house on the beach on Lantau Island. It was a little cold and windy that day so we couldn’t lay out on the beach like I had in my mind but we went to this fishing village (Tai O) that I wanted to check out. We then went to eat Thai and 30 or 40 people packed into this little house where we just threw a house party.

 

 

almost getting it together | hong kong lantau island

I didn’t even remember I had a birthday cake until I found these photos on Facebook.

 

My friends and family from home kept calling because Hong Kong is twelve hours ahead and I just kept taking the calls (sorry about that phone bill)… finally one was my grandmother telling me she was coming to Hong Kong to visit! I was so homesick that it was exactly what I needed. Also I saw a wild ox (it was the Year of the Ox) and I was SO confused because there may or may not have been a lot of champagne involved that night. We also did my favorite thing (think beach at night maybe or maybe not sans clothes) and I had the smart idea to try and swim to this island (Lost was big at this time) but my friends smartly stopped me.

 

almost getting it together | hong kong lantau island tai o

Tai O #nofilter

 

The next morning we were all so hungover and sleep deprived we couldn’t wait to get out of there. There was a Pizza Hut by the train station in Lantau so the three people I was closest to there and I had Pizza Hut for breakfast/lunch. Pizza Huts in China are SUPER fancy so we were dying at how hard they were trying and super happy to have greasy American-ish carbs.

almost getting it together | hong kong lantau island

The aftermath. Someone straight CREEPED this photo.

So if you ever wondered if I was crazy… yes.

3. What is your #1 thing you want to accomplish in your lifetime?
To be successful and happy. Also I want to write a book… so if you’re a publisher trying to publish my crazy antics, holla at your girl.

4. What is the stupidest thing you’ve ever done?
What isn’t the stupidest thing I’ve ever done?

5. Who was your childhood hero?
The girl from Lamb Chop’s Play-Along. On a more serious note, I don’t know, but Marie Antoinette maybe?

Chat with me:
Answer one of the above questions!

5 thoughts on “Spill It Sunday [1]

  1. I’d buy your book! Drunk swimming. Almost as bad as drunk running. Which is by far the stupidest thing I’ve ever done and resulted in me passing out in the Berlin train station (after eating THREE paninis of course). Damn I’m impressed by my stamina! Too bad i’m old now.

Leave a Reply

