Overnight Oats Two Ways

Sorry for two recipe posts in a row (I know, you’re as tormented about my blog cadence as I am). I just write about clothes all day so some days it’s a challenge to want to write about them more (but I do love writing about them either way, don’t get me wrong).

I’m a freak of nature – nut butters are unusually safe in my house, despite my love for them. My worst food habit is I have to try everything. I have a lot of willpower once I try something. Thus, I am the only person in the world who can keep a jar of Justin’s hazelnut butter for over a year. (Is it even safe that long?) The Trader Joe’s peanut butter did not last as long (maybe a few months) but I think was finished quicker in part to me using it to make energy bites and leaving it in the fridge at work (a few spoonfuls seemed to be missing…).

I always see people making overnight oats in the remnants of nut butter jars and thought it would be the perfect way to enjoy those last bits of deliciousness hiding in the corners. And I was right. Forgive the photography, it was a total afterthought once I was SnapChatting my breakfast to people (disclaimer – I don’t usually SnapChat).  The best part of this is – you have zero clean-up and dishes to wash.

Overnight Oats with Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

overnight oats justin's hazelnut butter

Please ignore the weird paper top residue.

What you’ll need:
1 mostly empty chocolate hazelnut butter jar (I use Justin’s because it doesn’t have palm oil and junk in it)
1/2 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup almond milk
1 tbs chia seeds
1 packet stevia
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 banana, sliced
1/4 cup raspberries

What to do:
Put oats, chia seeds, stevia, and cinnamon in the jar.
Pour almond milk on top and shake.
Let sit in the fridge overnight or up to two days.
When you’re ready to eat, top with banana and raspberries in the jar and enjoy.

Overnight Oats with Peanut Butter

overnight oats trader joe's peanut butter | almost getting it together

Looks kind of weird, tastes amazing.

What you’ll need:
1 mostly empty peanut butter jar (I use Trader Joe’s because it is just peanuts and nothing else)
1/2 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup almond milk
1 tbs chia seeds
1 packet stevia
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 banana, sliced
1/4 cup blueberries
1/4 cup Greek yogurt (I was extra hungry that morning and figured I could use the extra protein)

What to do:
Put oats, chia seeds, stevia, and cinnamon in the jar.
Pour almond milk on top and shake.
Let sit in the fridge overnight or up to two days.
When you’re ready to eat, top with banana, blueberries, and Greek Yogurt right in the jar and enjoy.

Chat with me:
Overnight oats: Yes or no?

5 thoughts on “Overnight Oats Two Ways

  1. YES love OIAJ but it’s sometimes tricky for me cause I have a weird obsession with making nut butters. Like you I have to try everything and sometimes that means I have to make like 6 different types of nut or seed butter at once. Currently in my pantry: Justin’s vanilla AB, TJs AB, homemade AB, walnut butter, maple pumpkin seed butter and maple pecan butter…I think I may have a problem.

  2. Pingback: Monday Motivation: Running in the Cold | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

