Banana Berry Chia Pancakes

I went to bed last night CRAVING banana pancakes. I don’t know what was wrong with me yesterday – I was hungry all day. I think it stemmed from throwing off my eating schedule Friday by eating little meals all day long. I know that’s allegedly good for your metabolism but I need to have a meal and know that’s when I stop. Today hopefully I’ll get back on track.

I whipped up these little guys pretty quickly. I forgot how much I like fruit reductions – it’s a nice change from my normal Greek yogurt + PB2 that I eat on pancakes. In case you couldn’t have guessed, pancakes are my desert island food, followed quickly by eggs and Greek yogurt. These are paleo and gluten-free and full of protein (sorry about the sugar from all the fruit, though).

Banana Berry Chia Pancakes

almost getting it together | banana berry chia pancakes

I know… my food photography skills are shocking me too.

 

almost getting it together | banana berry chia pancakes

even capturing steam!

 

What you’ll need:
1 ripe banana
1/3 cup egg whites
1/4 cup almond meal
1/4 cup blueberries
1 tbs chia seeds
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon

Strawberry Reduction
1 cup frozen strawberries
1 packet stevia
1 tbs water

almost getting it together | banana berry chia pancakes

banana berry chia pancakes

 

What to do:
Dump all of the strawberry reduction ingredients in a small sauce pan on medium high heat, stirring occasionally. Once it boils, turn down to a simmer and keep stirring occasionally. The whole process should take 15-20 minutes.
Mash the banana really well. Don’t leave chunks of banana – just keep mashing.
Add chia seeds and stir again.
Add egg whites, almond meal, cinnamon and baking powder. Stir until just combined.
Fold in blueberries.
Pour mixture onto heated skillet on medium low heat for 3-4 minutes, until bottoms are beginning to brown. They are really delicate because of the egg whites, so flip carefully. Let cook for another minute or so.
Plate the pancakes and pour reduction on top. Enjoy!
Chat with me:
What are you avoiding right now? I’m avoiding an 8-10 mile run in the cold. Burr.

9 thoughts on “Banana Berry Chia Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Planning for the Week | Working Out & Eating In

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Blueberry Banana Bread | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

