Getting It Together Thursdays: Reading For Pleasure

You spend a good chunk of 17-ish years of your life reading for school (assuming you go get a 4-year degree). When I was in school, I rarely wanted to pick up a book. It would take me months to finish a book. I would forget what happened and then be too lazy to go re-read it I would just read the Wikipedia article on the book to catch up. I’m a terrible person, I know.

I read a lot – but it’s mostly magazines and blogs. I love short bursts of information (blame it on the ADD) so I think that’s why I love magazines and blogs. I have a subscription to Vanity Fair but as soon as I see all that text in an article I just flip back to the Proust Questionnaire and the society pictures.

Lately I’ve been trying this thing called reading for pleasure. It’s when you set aside some time to read something for the fun of it. I loved reading in elementary school – I was such a dork I would set my alarm an hour early to get up and read before school. It takes me months to finish a book when in fourth grade I finished Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in two days. My mother had to threaten to take it away if I didn’t go to sleep at 2:30 a.m. the morning after I got the book. Now it takes me nine months to finish a book.

As I start to think about professional development I decided I needed to read books like the Steve Jobs biography (on page 30 after two months) and Paul Arden (mostly pictures and large text and maybe 100 pages and I still haven’t finished it a year later) and Lean In (unopened on my nightstand). I realized maybe I should go back to trashy chic lit and funny memoirs that I like and focus on that just so I’m reading something other than Refinery29.

Let’s talk about my all-time favorite book right now – Where’d You Go Bernadette?

Photo credit: Goodreads.com

Photo credit: Goodreads.com

 

So if you like Arrested Development you’re going to love this book because Maria Semple was a writer on the show. Bernadette is basically what I’m going to be in 20 years, minus the failed architecture career and complete disdain for her house. What happens is she has a complete and utter meltdown and is supposed to go with her family to Antarctica because her daughter, Bee, made all A’s. Then, on the trip, she suddenly disappears. The book is told through letters, e-mails, and official documents. I read it in entirety between two three hour flights – then immediately started again. That never happens. Go buy it right now, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Chat with me:
Reading for pleasure – yes or no?

7 thoughts on “Getting It Together Thursdays: Reading For Pleasure

  1. Pingback: Getting It Together Thursdays: JOMO [Joy of Missing Out] | Almost Getting It Together

  2. Pingback: Now Trending [1] | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

