Slow Cooker White Chicken Chili

Yet another non-breakfast, non-pumpkin recipe? Yeah, I don’t know who I am right now either.

Growing up I was not a fan of chili. (Was anyone?) When my mother would make chili she would have to make me something else. My mother was not one to make two meals – I did not get macaroni and cheese when she and my father were eating something adult-ish (say, chicken picatta or something). I ate whatever my parents ate. I think this is part of the reason I try most things (as long as they don’t have a ton of sugar or fat) and I have always tended to choose healthy(-ier) foods.

So suddenly one day I wake up and like chili. Did you know your taste buds change every seven years or so? (Cannot find scientific link to hyperlink to but let’s just go with it.) I think it happened around the time I suddenly started liking tomatoes besides masked with fresh mozzarella and a ton of balsamic vinegar. Before that though, I would tolerate white chicken chili because it lacked tomatoes.

I also suddenly woke up one morning obsessed with my crock pot (and at last count we have three – THREE! – between two people in my house) and chili, like all soups, tastes much better after sitting for a day in the crock pot and then a day or two in the fridge. This is also great if you’re doing GOOP’s Elimination Diet (I’m not, for the record, because I love strawberries and tomatoes too much to imagine giving them up for a week). This is also great if you’re lazy and need to clean out your pantry. You’ll see why in a second.

 

Slow Cooker White Chicken Chili 

 

almost getting it together  slow cooker white chicken chili

Slow Cooker White Chicken Chili

 

What You’ll Need
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
6 cups low sodium chicken broth
2 cans Great Northern Beans, rinsed
1 can sweet kernel corn, rinsed
1 jar salsa verde
2 tsp paprika
1  tsp freshly ground pepper

What to Do
Dump everything in your crock pot. Turn on low for 8 hours. You can eat it then or you can let it cool then put it in the fridge and let sit for a day or two – I recommend the second option.

 

Chat with me:
What food did you recently discover you liked after disliking growing up?

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker White Chicken Chili

  1. I hated chili growing up too, but have found in recent years that when cold weather hits I crave it. I’m still looking for the perfect recipe before I’ll say I love chili, but it’s definitely grown on me!

  2. obv you read GOOP! I actually would have killed for my Mom to make chili growing up. I love chili but we got things like mashed potatoes, baked chicken and peas, which still makes me cringe.

    But this looks delicious and I love my crock pot even more than breakfast and pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

