Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas

A recipe that does not involve either pumpkin or breakfast? I’m just as shocked as you, I know. I’m trying to cook meals on Sunday/Monday so I (and my dad) have healthy, tasty lunch for the entire week as well as leftovers when I come home from work/yoga. It is saving me a ton of money not to buy my lunch every day or be tempted to stop by Panera for a salad on my way home.

I love grilled/roasted veggies, especially in Mexican food. I don’t really love eating meat but I do so because I know how active I am and how hungry I get without a ton of protein, so meat usually accomplishes that. If this wasn’t the case, I would probably very rarely eat meat. I just (thankfully) love vegetables.

This is a little time/work intensive but it’s super worth it. The cool part about this is you don’t need any seasonings, so if you’re one of those people who doesn’t have seasonings around, this is great for you. Definitely try it – you won’t be disappointed.

almost getting it together vegetarian roasted vegetable enchiladas

Beautiful roasted veggies!

 

almost getting it together vegetarian roasted vegetable enchiladas

I never said I was a food stylist… or even that great at presentation. Sorry about that.

 

What you’ll need:
4 cups butternut squash, cubed
2 small zucchinis
1 medium onion
1 can of corn, rinsed
1 can of black beans, rinsed
12 small tortilla shells (I use Trader Joe’s small low carb tortillas)
1 bottle enchilada sauce (I used Trader Joe’s and recommend it!)
2 cups shredded cheese
1 cup Greek Yogurt
1 tbs olive oil
1 tsp Himalayan Pink Sea Salt (or regular if you aren’t fancy)
1 tsp freshly ground pepper (or regular if you aren’t fancy)

What to do:
-Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
-Slice your onion. Put into large bowl with squash and toss with 1/2 tbs olive oil and 1/2 tsp salt and  1/2 tsp pepper. -Pour onto lined baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes.
-Slice zucchini. Put into the same bowl you used for the other veggies with the rinsed corn (you should always rinse things in cans because there could be an aluminum taste or something – and canned/frozen veggies are actually more nutritious than fresh so don’t think I’m lazy). Mix with remaining olive oil and salt and pepper. Put into oven after the squash and onion are in there for 30 minutes (but don’t take them out!). Roast everything for another 10 minutes.
-Take veggies out and put back into large bowl. Add in rinsed black beans and mix well. Let cool.
-Turn down oven to 350 degrees F.
-Put a thin layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom of a glass baking dish. Once your veggies have cooled, put a scoop of veggies in a tortilla, add 1 tbs Greek Yogurt and a pinch of cheese. Roll up and lay seam down in the dish. Continue until you are out of veggies/tortillas.
-Pour remaining enchilada sauce on top. Sprinkle remaining cheese on top. Bake for 30 minutes or until cheese is brown. Let cool and enjoy!

Chat with me:
What’s your favorite Mexican food?

7 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas

  1. Yum! I love this. Enchiladas are so tasty and if you add in squash I’m basically sold. There’s a place in Athens that makes their food with seasonal ingredients and once I got a seasonal quesadilla, they put beets in it. At first I was like wtf but it was amazing! Roasted veggies are great for things like that.

  2. These look soooo good! The parentals are road trippin to Cleveland in a few weeks and I am requiring them to stop at TJs to pick up the necessities. I am adding those tortillas and the enchilada sauce to my lost.

    “I never called myself a food stylist” <–I love you.

  3. I think the presentation is just fine….I’m practically salivating over your pic of the enchiladas!

    I love all the ingredients and would love to make this but then my boyfriend will ask “Where’s the protein?” UGH. I need to trick him.

Leave a Reply

