Banana Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes

I love pancakes but as we all know by now, I’m terrified of flour and sugar. What’s a girl who once ate chocolate chip pancakes every morning in high school for approximately a year straight (and this was before I got fat, mind you – but I did play three sports in high school) to do?

Enter banana-based pancakes pancakes. They’re seriously the easiest thing ever. Some hardcore people do two ingredients – egg whites and banana – but I like a thicker pancake. When I thought I had Celiac’s discovered my gluten sensitivities (my diagnosis, not my doctor’s) earlier this year, I freaked out – I love pancakes! But in comes buckwheat to the rescue. Buckwheat is actually a superfood – it’s high in fiber, protein, and actually it’s from some type of fruit or seed so it’s gluten free.

I heard of buckwheat while in college in Northern West Virginia – in the southern part of the state it’s not something we messed with (that would be diabetes). People used to have benefit buckwheat pancake breakfasts. I actually think I made my class volunteer at one when I taught/mentored an ‘Intro to the Honors College’ course (totally forgot I did that until just now).

If you haven’t had it before, it’s kind of nutty, which is nice in pancakes. I top all my pancakes with plain Greek yogurt mixed with a little maple syrup and PB2 for extra protein. Doesn’t it look like a huge pat of butter?

 

almost getting it together | gluten free pancakes

           Banana blueberry buckwheat pancakes – gluten free, sugar free, and delicious.

 

What You’ll Need (one serving)
1 very ripe banana, mashed
1/2 cup egg whites
1/4 cup buckwheat
1/4 cup blueberries
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 packet stevia

Topping:
1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
1 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp PB2

 

What to do:
Heat a skillet on medium. Spray with non-stick spray. Mix all your pancake ingredients together until just combined – the key to pancakes is not over mixing. Use 1/4 cup of the mixture to make pancakes. Let sit for 2 minutes, until bottom is brown and easily turnable. Let cook until you don’t see batter on the outside – they should be cooked through.

Mix all the topping ingredients together. Put on top of pancakes. Enjoy!
Chat with me:
What’s the regional breakfast food where you live?

8 thoughts on “Banana Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Bitstrip is Stalking Me & Links to Love | Fitness Moves You

Leave a Reply

