Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Icing

Confession: This recipe has sugar. I was too lazy Saturday to make anything without sugar because it is so simple to add and not figure out how to make things not liquid-y because you’re using maple syrup/honey/agave/applesauce. I blame it on a wonderful boozy brunch with my friend Emily (finally drank these three mini champagne bottles I’ve had for six months) and after getting our nails done, beers at Mad Mex seemed so appealing. (Clearly Saturday was my cheat day… but then again, what day in my life isn’t?)

I wanted to be festive so in case you need a last-second Halloween dish for your work pot luck tomorrow, here’s a super easy and DELICIOUS recipe. I have refined sugar so rarely I get so confused why anything I bake/eat that has it in is extra delicious until I remember… sugar. I had to stop myself from eating the batter.

The best part of this – I didn’t have to drag my KitchenAid out to mix anything, including the frosting. A fork for the bars and a spatula for the frosting does the trick fine.

 

Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Icing

 

almost getting it together halloween pumpkin greek yogurt bars

Pumpkin Greek Yogurt Bars with Cream Cheese Icing

 

What you’ll need:
Bars
2 cups pumpkin puree
2 cups whole wheat flour
2/3 cup Greek Yogurt
4 egg whites
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cloves
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla extract
dash salt

Frosting1/2 cup cream cheese
3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
chopped pecans

 

What to do:
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
Mix all your dry ingredients in a large bowl.
Mix all your wet ingredients in a medium bowl.
Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients. Mix until just combined.Pour into cake pan and bake for 20-25 minutes, until a fork inserted comes out clean.

Let your the pan cool for 10 minutes then put on a cooling rack to finish cooling.

While your bars are cooling, mix the cream cheese with a spatula. Add in powdered sugar 1/4 cup at a time. Add in vanilla extract and mix until thin enough to spread.

Once your bars are cooled, cut them into whatever size you want. Take a spoon and put a dollup of frosting on time and spread. Top with chopped pecans. Hide so you don’t eat the entire batch.

 

Chat with me:
Are you sick of pumpkin? What is your kitchen cheat?

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Icing

  1. I cheat with everything in the kitchen…I call it cooking smart 😉 Also I just spent a solid 5 minutes (and considering my attention span lasts approx 1.5 mins means A LOT) stalking your instagram. I feel like we’d be friends in real life…just me? Ok I promise I’m not normally this creepy!

Leave a Reply

