Trail Mix Energy Bites

This was not your regularly programed post. I found out this morning, after I had already made a stupid green smoothie and was on my way to work, that it was National Oatmeal Day. NATIONAL OATMEAL DAY! Oatmeal is my favorite and I didn’t even celebrate it. I’m such a phoney.

I considered having oatmeal for dinner to celebrate but my carb intake was already a little higher than I liked today and I forced myself to take a rest day (running a total of 19 miles + yoga every day for three days, I knew my body needed it) so I ate some chicken tomato basil stew I made instead. (And a leftover brunch donut. Whoops.)

Luckily, I had this recipe including oatmeal on hand to share with you all to celebrate. This came from me getting in a kick of trying to use up half-used things in the pantry, which included leftover trail mix that I had eaten all the good parts from (i.e., cashews and almonds). It was a mixture of raisins, pumpkin seeds, dried fruits, and carob chips. Use whatever you have on hand… that’s the point.

 

Trail Mix Energy Bites

almost getting it together national oatmeal day trail mix energy bites

Trail Mix Energy Bites

 

What you’ll need:
1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup trail mix
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 tbs maple syrup

What to do:
Throw everything in a bowl and mix it all up. Let refrigerate for at least thirty minutes. Take out and mold into balls. Keep in refrigerator for up to a week.

 

Chat with me:
Did you celebrate National Oatmeal Day? What is your favorite way to eat oatmeal?

6 thoughts on “Trail Mix Energy Bites

  1. Pingback: Overnight Oats Two Ways | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

