So, You Don’t Know About Soft Dressing

Have you heard all the buzz on soft dressing? If not, you’re two years behind the time because that moment is almost up anyway. Soft dressing is all about that Southern European easy fashion – flowy, sheer, chic. I’m a big proponent of soft dressing in the spring/summer because I don’t like wearing clothes so easy-breezy makes me feel like I’m not.

Please forgive I look slightly rough in this photo. It’s possible I had been crying that day (HEY, I’m almost getting it together, give me a break) or just exhausted or probably both. I don’t remember, this look is two weeks old (sorry).

The pants are these great new cotton pants from American Eagle Outfitters. I used to be super against any pants but jeans (and leggings) but then randomly bought these great linen cargos from J Crew a couple years ago and realized I love pants that are also not jeans. I love how they have elastic at the bottom so they are great for shorties (albeit leggy shorties) like myself and you can show off some cute heels or wedges in warmer weather.

I love a good bralette or bandeau (because I don’t believe in real bras in the summer… or usually ever) matched back to a razorback tank and that is the epitome of soft dressing to me. Paired with a cute kimono from Brandy Melville and I look Italian-chic, no?

 

almost getting it together : soft dressing featuring american eagle outfitters and brandy melville

Soft Dressing 101

 

Get my look:
Kimono: Brandy Melville – Alexis Kimono Top (similar)
Tank: American Eagle Outfitters – AE Every Wear Tank
Bandeau: Aerie – Signature Lace Bralette
Pants: American Eagle Outfitters (sold out online, available in select stores)
Shoes: DV by Dolce Vita – Tremor

 

Chat with me:
My go-to style is soft dressing. What is yours?

14 thoughts on “So, You Don’t Know About Soft Dressing

  1. This look really suits you. Just beautiful.

    I am a very relaxed dresser myself. Comfort always comes first but as your post points out, we don’t have to sacrifice style for comfort 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

