Blackberry Fig Muffins

So I probably missed the boat on this recipe. The California Fig Association said figs will be around until mid-December, but as far as I know, I haven’t seen a fig since early September – potentially August. But when you basically live in the Midwest, that’s probably an inaccurate estimate.

Sorry I’ve been a bad blogger. I’ve had a busy week (Penguins games! Meetings with shamans! HOMECOMING with my best friend!) and I have barely even made it to yoga. But I’m back now!

On the note of homecoming, to every person I saw this weekend who told me they read/followed/loved my blog – I know you were probably drunk, but thank you, I love you and your comments seriously made my weekend.

A note about these muffins – they were slightly lazily made. I hate chopping things so I didn’t chop the blackberries and didn’t want to buy dried figs (sugar), so you could make those two adjustments. Without further audieu…

 

Blackberry Fig Muffins

 

blackberry fig muffins almost getting it together

Blackberry Fig Muffins

 

What you’ll need:
2 cups whole wheat flour
3 large figs, chopped
1 cup blackberries
1 cup Greek yogurt
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup applesauce
1 egg
2 tbsp coconut oil
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
dash Pink Himalayan sea salt

What to do:

  • Preheat oven to 425 F. Line a 12 cup muffin tin with liners. If you don’t want to chance it – line a mini-muffin pan in case you have a little extra batter left over, too. (No one ever tells you that in recipes.)
  • Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Set aside.
  • In another medium sized bowl, mix Greek yogurt, honey, yogurt, egg, and coconut oil.
  • Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients. Mix until just combined.
  • Add figs and blackberries carefully and mix until just combined.
  • Fill muffin tins 2/3 of the way full. Put in oven for 15-18 minutes until the tops start to brown.
  • Let cool in tins for 10 minutes then allow to cool fully on wire rack.
  • Store in fridge for up to 5 days.

 

Tips:Live somewhere that figs are in season longer than one day. I also think these would be so good mixed in Greek yogurt, but they didn’t last long enough to try that.

 

Chat with me:
Did you miss me? What were you up to this week?

 

5 thoughts on “Blackberry Fig Muffins

Leave a Reply

