Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cookies

Could I go one week without posting a recipe involving pumpkin? The answer is no. I think pumpkin is my current favorite vegetable. It’s all I can do to not incorporate it into every meal and snack.

These cookies were inspired by Health Nut Julie’s What I Ate Wednesday then adapted from the recipe she used from The Detoxinista’s Pumpkin Pie Cookies. So thank you to both for being such a delicious inspiration. They are vegan + paleo. I was actually using them for pre-run fuel in the mornings last week after running out of energy bites and not having any peanut butter or almond butter to make more. (The struggle is real.)

I gave some to my friend Emily to taste-test (by the way, Happy Birthday Em!!) and she sent me a text later saying “I appreciate a cookie that tastes like cookie dough”. I do too. That’s why I doubled the pumpkin in this recipe & undercooked them. If you want a firmer cookie, use the original recipe.
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cookies

Almost Getting It Together Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cookies

Check out how artsy I am getting with the pumpkin candle from Anthro thrown in.

What you’ll need:
1 cup almond butter (I used my homemade vanilla almond butter)
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup carob chips
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinammon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
dash Himalayan sea salt (you can use real salt if you aren’t a snob like me… but buy/use Himalayan sea salt, it’s SO much better for you)

What to do:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all the ingredients together except the carob chips with a wooden spoon. Mix in carob chips. Use a cookie scooper thing to make 1 inch dough balls on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 15 minutes for doughy cookies, 18 minutes for firmer cookies. Try not to eat the entire pan at once.

Tips:
Just eat whatever is left in the bowl as cookie dough. It’s totally safe to eat since there aren’t an eggs. Not that that stops anyone normally.

Chat with me:
What are your pretentious food habits?

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cookies

Leave a Reply

