Weekend Homework [2]

I’m headed to Columbus this weekend to see my friend Angela and run the “Run Like a Girl” Half-Marathon. I’m super excited to see Angela and run this race AND we are going to see The Neighbourhood Saturday night so if you can tell me of a better weekend right now you’d be wrong. (Only if all of this were taking place in Hawaii could it be better.)

I’ve read some cool stuff this week and wanted to share. Check out these things and get it together by staying informed.

Read:
The Hungry Runner Girl (not me, even though it sounds like it should be, no?) talks about the top 10 sacrifices runners make. I know I’ve made a lot in the past 10 years of running. And there have definitely been times I’ve dragged boys out on runs and wondered the whole time if I’m going to be dumped for what I’m making them do.

Refinery29 has a great article from seven women on their female role models. I’ve had a lot of great role models in my life and I’m realizing now how important it is to have mentors inside and outside of work. Definitely worth the read.

Eat
Make this curried pumpkin & apple soup. Seriously. I know it’s from my blog but it’s so good.

Finally tried Pepita Hummus from Mad Mex. It’s more than I ever could have hoped for. So if anyone has a friend who works at Mad Mex please have them steal the recipe for me.

Look at:
Vancouver boutique meets restaurant Secret Location has been traveling through all four main fashion weeks and snapping street style. I know it’s a month late, but do people just dress as nuts as possible at New York Fashion Week?

Lauren from “Me and the Mountains” was lucky enough to go on a Whole Foods tour in Boulder, which is the location of one of their largest stores. I had no idea you could have them season/cook your fish for you or cut off just the parts of the vegetables you want if they are pay-per-pound.

Do:
Wear open toed shoes. And shorts. Who knows when the next chance to wear them will be and it’s supposed to be in the 80s this weekend on the East Coast!

Sam Edelman spiked high heels almost getting it together

I need to make a point to bring these bad boys out this weekend. And eat my Sam Edelman cookie at some point.

Make a goal this week. I made one yesterday that is really insane but will hopefully pan out and make for a really great future & story. Sorry to be cryptic. Any guesses to what it could be?

Listen:
Some guy named Justin Timberlake released the second half of his album.

Chat with me:
How are you spending your weekend?

5 thoughts on “Weekend Homework [2]

  1. Curried pumpkin and apple soup sounds so delicious…and, perfectly timely. My hubby and I just had a delectable butternut squash soup I made yesterday….our son absolute loved it, as well. As for our weekend, with the government shutdown, my hubby no longer has to attend his weekend Army training (no paycheck on the downside, but, on the upside: we get to spend the weekend together!). We plan on linking up with some friends on Saturday, and picking apples and doing other fun things :)…I love this time of year!

Leave a Reply

