Getting It Together Thursdays: Social Media

In honor of the phenomenon known as “Throwback Thursday” let’s all take a minute to think about those Thursday nights in college that you felt the need to document your play-by-play on Twitter. It’s real fun to talk about how many shots you took on Twitter and then spend Friday morning lamenting how hungover you are to all your followers. I’ve been there, I get it. It also makes a future employer or even your coworkers wonder where you lost your filter.

One of the most adult-like things you can do is clean up your social media accounts. When I started interviewing for my job, I spent [several] hours cleaning up everything from college. I was open about my cleaning spree once I was comfortably employed and had a rapport. Scale down the swearing about how your professor sucks. Delete the photos on Instagram of you throwing back margarita pitchers. It’s trashy and lame to begin with.

NEVER talk about your employer negatively on social media. No matter what company you work for, someone is going to see it. There are social media police. At my company, it’s me.

No one cares what you had for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. No one cares about your work out. No one cares about how clean you ate one meal. Stop the play-by-play.

Start being more relevant on social media. You don’t have to be all-professional all the time, but you should throw in some tweets about something in your industry (if you want to look knowledgeable). If you’re in fashion maybe you should mention the great interview you read about John Galliano’s comeback at Oscar de la Renta. If you’re in med school talk about some cool medicine thing (the only thing i know about medicine is how to be a hypochondriac, which I am).  I throw in a few tweets occasionally about people doing cool things on social or funny social media cultural quips but I try to keep it pretty true to what’s going on in my life and I think I’m pretty funny.

 

An example of a photo that shouldn't be on your social media accounts.

For Throwback Thursday: An example of a photo that shouldn’t be on your social media accounts.

 

Chat with me:
What’s the most embarrassing thing you’ve done on social media?

One thought on “Getting It Together Thursdays: Social Media

  1. All I have to do is look back at my first year of tweets and it’s just sheer embarrassment. I had no idea how to use the platform (and am still learning). I can’t stand when people make secret twitter accts for drunken escapades because that’s not really what it’s meant for. I will say that I do post about food I eat sometimes but I think that’s okay specifically for me because of the content on my blog! But I try to limit it.

Leave a Reply

