Curried Pumpkin & Apple Soup

Who knew curry was such a fall flavor? Everywhere I look I find recipes for curried butternut squash, curried apples, curried pumpkin [soup]. I thought I wasn’t into curry as a spice, only as a Thai entree, but it turns out I am.

It also seems like I have no clue that any other food exists other than pumpkin. Out of five recipes currently on my blog, three include pumpkin and one I have planned (and baked!) also features pumpkin. I went to Trader Joe’s on Saturday and in case you were wondering, there isn’t anything there that doesn’t include pumpkin, so I guess they missed the memo, too.

I’ve been craving soup, specifically squash or pumpkin soup, but I’m terrified of the sodium levels in store-bought and restaurant soup. What’s a girl to do? Make her own, of course!

I adapted this recipe from Running With Spoons. It’s vegan, paleo, vegetarian… pretty much whatever fad diet you’re on besides raw. You have her to thank for that. I’d be using olive oil if I didn’t have an entire jar of Trader Joe’s Coconut Oil I needed to use up. I accidentally blackened the apples and onions and I thought it would be awful but it gave it a spicy, smokey flavor.

 Curried Pumpkin & Apple Soup

Almost Getting It Together: Curried Pumpkin Apple Soup

Curried Pumpkin & Apple Soup


What You’ll Need:
4 cups vegetable broth (one normal sized container)
4 cups pumpkin puree
1 cup applesauce
2 apples
1 yellow onion
1 tbsp curry powder
3 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2 tsp coconut oil

What to Do:
Dice your apples and cut your onion into slivers. Heat the coconut oil in a large skillet on high and then throw your apples and onions in. Let them soften (5-6 minutes) then add in curry powder, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and the apple sauce. I found the first time I made the apples and onions the spices were hard to mix and so I thought the applesauce would give it an extra apple-y flavor. Cover and let soak up the spices for another 5 minutes.

While your apples and onions are cooking, whisk together the pumpkin puree and broth in a large soup pot. The original recipe called for 1/2 the pumpkin but I love pumpkin so I doubled it. Let it boil then once the your veggies are soft, throw them in and reduce heat to medium. Let cook for 20 minutes then turn off heat and cool for 20-30 minutes.

Once your soup isn’t crazy hot, pour it (carefully) in your Vitamix (or other high-powered blender) and blend until everything is smooth and there aren’t veggie or fruit pieces anywhere. Serve and enjoy!

Tips:
Like most soups, this gets better with age. Feel free to have for lunch for the entire week!

Chat with me:
What is your favorite fall flavor? Do you OD on pumpkin like me?

5 thoughts on “Curried Pumpkin & Apple Soup

  1. Pingback: Weekend Homework | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

