Race Recap: Pittsburgh Great Race

Well, if you didn’t know me already and my attempts at concealing which city I currently live in didn’t fool you, the title of this blog post gives it all away.

I’ve wanted to run the Pittsburgh Great Race since I moved here after college but haven’t had a chance/remembered in time to run. Once again this year I ran into the same situation. I asked around to see if anyone knew of anyone selling a bib but didn’t have much luck. I decided to take my search to Craigslist.

After a few unanswered replies to Craigslist ads selling bibs I decided to try a wanted ad. I used Craigslist a few times before when I was on my house hunt earlier this year but never posted an ad before. I posted a wanted ad Friday night (likely, Saturday morning to be more exact) and had a reply by 7:30 a.m. Saturday morning and three more before the end of the day. I bought the first bib I found and transferred it over to my name. Note: Posting on Craigslist feels SUPER sketchy.

Funnily enough, I have never ran a 10K before. I do, however, typically run six miles most mornings. I wanted to use this run as a tempo/tune-up run before I run another half-marathon this coming weekend. I estimated I would finish at quickest, 54:00 minutes and at slowest, one hour. The race sells out at 10,000 for the 10K (It is the largest 10K in PA and the 10th largest 10K nationwide.) so I thought it might be go slow going. I also thought it would feel more competitive than it did since it is a weird distance.

I’m going to take a second to humblebrag here, I apologize.

 

Cassandra Pisone Pittsburgh Great Race 2013 10K Results

#humblebrag

 

I really pushed myself the whole race. I had one bad mile, mile five, and I’m not really sure why. I think my time was also kind of great because this course is mostly downhill but whatever, I’ll take my time and not make excuses for it being good.

I finished in these percentiles:

  • 31% overall
  • 19% of women
  • 26% of my age group

These might not be the best percentiles or even great, but they’re good for me and I’m proud of them. I ran an 8:38 minute average mile and that was unthinkable a few years ago.

 

Chat with me:
1) What is something you’ve done that you’re proud of lately?
2) Have you ever posted an ad on Craigslist? What was it for? Did you think it was sketchy?

3 thoughts on “Race Recap: Pittsburgh Great Race

  1. Pingback: Race Recap: Columbus “Run Like a Girl” Half-Marathon | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

