Pumpkin Pie Green Smoothie

This breakfast was inspired by my hero, Goop. (That’s Gwyneth Paltrow for those of you who aren’t part of the cult of Goop.) After a typical failure of a clean-eating weekend brought on by my long-run day binge, I was eyeing Gwen-Gwen’s elimination diet once again. (If you think I don’t own her latest book, It’s All Good, you’re mistaken.) I’m really going to do it one of these days, I swear!

Anyway, she had a recipe for a “pumpkin pie” smoothie made from roasted sweet potato instead of pumpkin. I have also seen recipes for sweet potato smoothies but have not experimented with them. I luckily had half of a roasted sweet potato in the fridge so this was a perfect way to use it up. Her recipe didn’t call for spinach and a morning without spinach is a morning I don’t want to be a part of (unless oats are involved), so I edited it a little bit.

Strangely enough, this tasted more like pumpkin pie than any smoothie I have made with actual pumpkin puree. I think the roasted flavor of the sweet potato brings it out. If I called this a healthy Pumpkin Spice Frappachino, I would get so many hits to my blog.

Pumpkin Pie Green Smoothie

 

Pumpkin Pie Green Smoothie | Almost Getting It Together

Pumpkin Pie Green Smoothie

 

What you’ll need:
2 cups spinach (or if you’re me, a Vitamix full of spinach)
3/4 cup almond milk
1/2 cup ice
1/2 frozen banana
1/2 roast sweet potato
1 scoop birthday cake protein powder (I know, I’ma nut)
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp vanilla extract

What to do:
Dump all of it into your blender. Blend until smooth. Pour into a glass and get flooded with nutrients and fall flavors.

 

Chat with me:
Gwyneth – love her or leave her?

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

