Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Like I’ve said before, if I don’t drink a green smoothie for breakfast during the week, I eat oatmeal. I never loved oatmeal until college and I honestly don’t know how I figured out I loved oatmeal. If I had hot cereal growing up, it was Cream of Wheat with milk and sugar. I actually just Googled Cream of Wheat to check out that nutritional info – it’s basically nothing. Low fiber, no fat, no protein – clearly, oatmeal is the more solid nutritional choice.

Anyway, back to oatmeal. I would eat instant oatmeal packets when I was studying abroad in Hong Kong. When my grandmother came to visit, she brought me an entire suitcase of oatmeal breakfast cookies, oatmeal packets, and Special K (that ish is like $8 for a box smaller than you find in America in Hong Kong). As I slowly started learning about added sugar when I hit 23, I realized I should be eating plain oatmeal and sweetening it myself. I started finding all kinds of delicious oatmeal recipes and I was hooked.

A friend tweeted about pumpkin spice oatmeal and I inquired where to find that at. She just mixed pumpkin puree in her oatmeal! Look at the back of a can of pureed pumpkin – it is so nutritional. 40 calories! Fiber! Protein! Vitamin A! (I have no clue what Vitamin A does, but I’m sure it’s helpful.) The best part of pumpkin in oatmeal – it thickens it up really well.

I eat pumpkin in my oatmeal all year round. I love the idea of getting in a veggie serving at breakfast (not that I have any trouble eating my fruits and veggies). Eat this instead of a 400-calorie pumpkin spice latte to celebrate fall and save yourself the #PSL10 (10 pounds you gain from pumpkin spice latte season).

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Almost Getting It Together: Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal – guess what… taken on my G15!

What You’ll Need:
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup almond milk (or whatever liquid you want… milk, regular milk, water, coconut water…)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 packet stevia (or 1 tbs brown sugar if you don’t have a fear of added sugar like I do)

Optional:
Fruit (I do 1/2 banana and blueberries, but you can do whatever)
Nut butter (I do 2 tbsp PB2 but some people are against powered nut butter)

What to do:
Mix together oats, pumpkin, and almond milk (AKA liquid). Microwave for 3 minutes, unless you’re not lazy like me and want to cook it on the stove (I do that sometimes, too). Mix in spices. Top with fruit and nut butter. Let everyone be jealous of your oatmeal.

Tips:
The best part of pumpkin in your oatmeal – it never boils over and leaves you crying while scrubbing out your microwave.  Transfer to another bowl because it will be super hot if you use a ceramic or glass bowl.

Chat with me:
What do you usually eat for breakfast? What do you eat in your oatmeal? How many #PSLs have you had this year?

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

  1. Love pumpkin pie oats. I always melt half a banana into my oatmeal (esp. pumpkin) so that I get natural sweetness from that. Vitamin A is really good for the reproductive system, skin (wrinkle prevention) and vision, among other things.

  2. Pingback: Two Minute Pumpkin Quinoa Breakfast Muffin | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

