So You Want to Make a Green Smoothie

One of my favorite breakfasts is a green smoothie. I have a few go-to recipes, one of which I will post at a later date that I call Emily’s Green Trekker (because my friend Emily adapted it from a Whole Foods smoothie we drank every morning during a trip to South Beach). After drinking Emily’s Green Trekker for approximately the past three months, I ventured out into new smoothie territory based on a smoothie I saw at Running With Spoons who has AMAZING recipes on her blog.

In the morning, if I’m not drinking a smoothie and it’s a weekday, I’m eating oatmeal. How could I mix my favorite two breakfasts together? With an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie smoothie, of course! Disclaimer: this smoothie is green. If you’re not down with green smoothies I don’t know why you’re even on my blog.

Image

OATMEAL CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE SMOOTHIE

You’ll need:
2 cups spinach (Honestly I don’t measure spinach… I just fill my Vitamix nearly to the top with it. The more spinach, the better in my world.)
1 cup almond milk
1/2 frozen banana
1/2 frozen mango chunks (Don’t know why, but it helps the cookie taste)
1 scoop birthday cake protein powder (any flavor will work… I’ve also used vanilla and want to try chocolate)
2 tbsp chocolate PB2
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp cocoa powder
handful of ice

What to Do:
Dump everything into your Vitamix. Don’t have a Vitamix? You’re missing out my friend. Shell out the $500. I promise it’s worth it. Okay, so you’re not a psychopath like me and don’t believe in $500 blenders. Dump everything into your blender. If you’re weird and want to know the order, I do spinach, almond milk, frozen fruit, dry stuff, ice. You’ll have to taper everything down probably during mixing. Mix on high until desired consistency. Poor in a cool mug and enjoy,

Tips:
Smoothies are an art, not a science. You gotta just play with what works for you. You could trade out the mango for another mild fruit or an entire banana instead. There’s a tip.

 

Chat with me:Do you have a Vitamix? Do you want one?

3 thoughts on “So You Want to Make a Green Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

