Coconut Energy Bites

As I am trying to curb my over-eating, especially at night, I typically wake up pretty hungry. I’ve been going on six mile runs before work 2-3 times a week and like to have a little something in my system so I’m not ravenous during my run.

A lot of the bloggers I follow talk about energy bites, so I decided to try making some of my own. I adapted this recipe from Gimme Some Oven. Please ignore my nearly-three week old gel manicure and crappy iPhone photo. I promise my photos will get better with time. I have a good camera, I swear!

Coconut Energy Bites - Almost Getting it Together

Coconut Energy Bites – tastier than they look.


Coconut Almond Energy Bites

You’ll need:
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup coconut flakes
1/4 cup flax seed
1/4 cup Earth Balance Coconut Peanut Buuter
3 tbsp honey
1 tsp vanilla extract

What to do:
Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl. Mix in the peanut butter, honey, and vanilla extract. Cover in the refrigerator for at least an hour until it begins to harden. Roll into whatever shape energy balls your heart desires. Put them into a container and refrigerator for up to a week.  You can probably keep them longer, but I like to live life on the wild side when it comes to food safety.

Tips:
You can edit this recipe with what you have in your pantry. Don’t use freshly ground nut butter: it won’t stick together as well and you’ll just have a mess of oats and coconuts. Try adding some chocolate chips or protein powder if that’s your kind of thing. Usually chocolate chips are mine but I’m trying to ween myself off chocolate.

Chat with me:
Did you make my half-stolen energy bite recipe? What did you think?

3 thoughts on “Coconut Energy Bites

  1. This reminds me of these coconut almond date balls I brought to the internship my first week and Jamie was like … what are those? But then I told her and she thought they sounded good. So I’m sure these are amaze because you made them, how could they not be?

Leave a Reply

