So… You Decided to Run a Half-Marathon Two Days Before the Race

Whew, that title was a mouthful. I hope it fits across a line.

On Tuesday, I was with my dad on the way home from our family’s lake house at Smith Mountain Lake in Virginia. We passed by the Montour Trail, which is near my dad’s house. There was a banner for the Montour Half-Marathon that Saturday.

“Should I run that half-marathon? I mean I need to do a long run Saturday. This might be more fun.” -Me to my father, who kind of ignored me.

I thought about it that entire night and all day Wednesday at work, looking for feedback from everyone as I am opt to do. Of course no one really had much feedback because only a few of my friends are distance runners who actually enjoy running races like I do. I decided Wednesday night at 11 p.m. when I should have been asleep that I would sign-up and run it. I told myself no expectations – no getting upset with myself about my time, that this race would just be fun and an excuse to eat a bagel.

I LOVE trail running. It comes from my cross-country background. I ran twelve miles last weekend on the trails at Smith Mountain Lake State Park and had not had that much fun running in a while. So naturally, I loved this half-marathon.

This is the first race I really haven’t dreaded/prepped for/had a bad few miles. I just had fun the whole time. Mile six and eleven kind of hurt, but other than that, my amazing ‘Long Run’ playlist and salted caramel Gu got me through.

Around mile seven, I realized if I stepped it up a little I could come close to my PR. I ran my last six miles pretty hard, almost all sub-nine, but I was a little too slow in the first half to make it under two hours. It was my second fast time and made me hungry to PR in Columbus next month.

I know for most runners sub-two isn’t a big deal, but I’m not necessarily an intelligent runner. I would say I have good form and I’m in pretty good shape, but I’m just learning 10 years into distance running how to push myself and how to not pace off of other people.

I did two things differently this time than I normally do: I took an amphipod and I definitely appreciated the extra water. I also wore a hat. Here is a photo my dad took of me wearing my hat and carrying my amphipod:

me running

This is what I look like after running 13 miles.

 

Chat with me:
Have you ever ran a race on a whim? Did you run a good time?

 

One thought on “So… You Decided to Run a Half-Marathon Two Days Before the Race

  1. Pingback: Race Recap: Columbus “Run Like a Girl” Half-Marathon | Almost Getting It Together

Leave a Reply

